Content | Navigation |

NDSU's Accreditation History

North Dakota Agricultural College (NDAC) was first accredited in 1915 by the North Central Association (NCA) as an institution that awarded four-year and master's degrees.  After a time when the (then) Board of Administrators became overly involved in the institution's activities, accreditation was withheld from April 7, 1938 until March, 1939.  Five doctoral programs were initiated in 1959 and in 1960 NDAC became North Dakota State University.  The NCA extended NDSU's accreditation in 1966 to include these doctoral programs.  After our February 1996 comprehensive visit, the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association re-accredited NDSU for another ten years on July 12, 2006.  NDSU's current "Statement of Affiliation Status with the Higher Learning Commission is at:,ShowBasic/Itemid,/instid,1520/

Photo from:
University Archives, 701-231-8914
Published by the University Archives, NDSU

The Higher Learning Commission has a helpful introduction to its Criteria for Accreditation at

NDSU Accreditation Self-Study Reports

2006 NDSU Accreditation Self-Study

1996 NDSU Accreditation Self Study HLC Strengths and Concerns

1986 NDSU Accreditation Self-Study NCA Concerns

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Accreditation, Assessment, and Academic Advising
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6671
Campus address: Morrill 213
Mailing address: Dept 2010, PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Site Manager:

Last Updated: Tuesday, July 08, 2014 1:09:41 PM