Content | Navigation |

Graduate Program

  • North Dakota State University offers both a Master of Science in Criminal Justice Administration and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Criminal Justice, designed to train graduate students in a field that is increasingly marketable. These graduate programs permit students to engage in focused study of the problems of crime, crime control, and the criminal justice system while simultaneously developing a strong foundation in related areas of criminological theory, research methods, and administration.
  • More specifically, the education and training of Master’s degree students in this field will (1) furnish practicing professionals with advanced knowledge of justice administration, criminal justice policy, behavioral elements of crime, and research skills; (2) provide students with conceptual and research skills that would facilitate coursework in a subsequent Ph.D. program; and (3) enhance the thinking skills of leaders in the criminal justice system by improving supervisory standards, facilitate critical thinking, and promoting ideas of social change.
  • Doctoral students are prepared to conduct research in the various areas of criminological theory, crime control, and correctional and police administration and to pursue teaching and/or research positions in academia or research positions within the criminal justice system itself. The curriculum will afford training to students in four areas: 1) criminological theory, 2) advanced research skills, 3) teaching in academia, and 4) specialization in one of three areas – Criminology, Corrections, and Policing.


2014-2015 Graduate Students

Doctoral Students:

Maria Buchholz
Office: 
CJ22
Email:  maria.buchholz.1@my.ndsu.edu

Tyler Cowley
Office:  CJ20
Email:  tyler.cowley@my.ndsu.edu
Tyler received a B.S. in Sociology from Kansas State University and a M.A. from Drury University.  His criminal justice interests include illegal drugs and their impact on social interaction and American street gangs, as well as racial issues in criminal justice.

Thorvald Dahle
Office:  CJ22
Email: thorvald.dahle@my.ndsu.edu
Research Interests:  Policing, law enforcement ethics, and issues regarding race and gender.

Frank Heley
Office: 
CJ24
Email: frank.heley@ndsu.edu

Carol Huynh
Office: 
CJ20
Email:  carol.huynh@my.ndsu.edu

Rachel Jordan

Office:  CJ24
Email:  rachel.jordan@ndsu.edu

Kelsey Keimig
Office: 
CJ22
Email: 
kelsey.a.keimig.1@ndsu.edu

Myungwoo Lee
Office:
  CJ24
Email:  myungwoo.lee@my.ndsu.edu
Specialization: 
Police Effectiveness, Gender, Fear of Crime, Quantitative Analysis, Spatial Analysis (GIS)

Thomas Mrozla
Office: 
CJ20
Email:  thomas.j.mrozla@my.ndsu.edu  
Research Interests:  Tom's central research interests include investigating the relationship between different minority groups and the criminal justice system, specifically the police.  His Master's thesis investigated how a suspect's race and gender would influence the likelihood that a stop would result in a suspect being frisked, arrested, or having force used against them in the five boroughs of New York City.

Jennafer Vondal
Office: 
CJ20
Email:
jennafer.vondal@ndsu.edu
Jennafer is a first year doctoral candidate in the Department of Criminal Justice. Her research interests include: biosocial criminology, life-course and transitional criminology, criminological theory, intervention and prevention program evaluation, and policy analysis. Jennafer received her B.S. in Biology and Sociology-Law, Crime, and Deviance from the University of Minnesota and her M.S. in Criminal Justice from the University of Cincinnati.

McKenzie Wood

Office:  CJ22
Email: mckenzie.wood@my.ndsu.edu



Masters Students:

Ella Hein
Office:  CJ24
Email:  ella.hein.1@my.ndsu.edu

Alexandra Marcel
Office:  CJ20
Email:  alexandra.marcel@my.ndsu.edu

Allison Noe
Office: 
CJ20
Email:
allison.noe@my.ndsu.edu

Vanessa Waller

Office:  CJ20
Email:
vanessa.waller@my. ndsu.edu

 

Accelerated Master's Program Requirements

Graduate Handbook

Master's Requirements

Ph.D. Requirements

Past Policing Comprehensive Exam Questions Fall 2012

Past Policing Comprehensive Exam Questions Spring 2013

Past Theory-Methods Comprehensive Exam Questions January 2008

Past Theory-Methods Comprehensive Exam Questions February 2012

Past Theory-Methods Comprehensive Exam Questions April 2012

Past Theory-Methods Comprehensive Exam Questions February 2013

Reading Lists:
Corrections

Policing

Theory-Methods


For admission information, please contact:
Dr. Carol Archbold, Associate Professor/Graduate Coordinator
Dr. Carol Archbold

 

 


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-8567
Campus address: CJPP 106
Physical/delivery address: 1616 12th Avenue North, Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 2315 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050

Published by the NDSU Criminal Justice & Political Science Department

 

 

Last Updated: Thursday, August 28, 2014 2:37:11 PM