Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1970s

  • David Leapaldt, BS ’79, architectural studies, BArch ’80, architecture, was selected to receive the 2014 Louis Lundgren Award by the Minnesota society of the American Institute of Architects. The honor annually recognizes one Minnesota architect for dedication to the profession through community volunteer activities and professional leadership. Leapaldt is active in the Paramount Arts Trust, Mississippi River Partnership, Central Minnesota Community Foundation and other organizations. He leads the architectural firm IIW Minnesota, based in St. Cloud, Minnesota. September 2014
  • Curtis Stofferahn, BS ’75, social science, was recognized for outstanding service to the Rural Sociological Society at the organization’s awards banquet in New Orleans. He was secretary of the society from 2010-13. Previously, he was an elected council member, chair of the Professional Communications Committee and co-chair of the 75th Anniversary Committee. He is a professor and department chair of sociology at the University of North Dakota. August 2014
  • Robert Littlefield, MA ’79, drama, drama, was one of seven Americans among the 17 Lions from around the world elected to the position of international director at the 97th annual Convention of Lions Clubs International held in Toronto, Canada. He is an NDSU professor of communication. August 2014
  • Marilyn Niewoehner, BS ’75, textiles and clothing, was the featured artist at the Prairie Arts Club's Fine Arts and Craft Fair at the Metigoshe Christian Center near Bottineau, North Dakota. She lives in Rugby, North Dakota. August 2014
  • Mark Shaul, BArch ’76, architecture, joined the Fargo office of JLG Architects. He is a project architect for the firm and a member of the Construction Specifications Institute. July 2014
  • Patsy (Bredwick) Levang, BS ’71, psychology, wrote a book titled “The Bird Book,” which tells the story of a woman who found life can be fulfilling without material riches midst nature and the comfort of birds. She also is the volunteer chairperson of the centennial celebration for the city of Watford City, North Dakota. She lives near Keene, North Dakota. July 2014
  • Jon K. Jennings, BS ’72, civil engineering, received two Vistage international awards. For the third consecutive year, he, as Vistage chair in western North Dakota, received the Chair Excellence Award. A total of 95 chairs worldwide received the award for 2013. In addition, Jennings received the Master Chair designation. Only 36 chairs worldwide received the honor in 2013. Founded in 1957 and headquartered in San Diego, Vistage assembles and facilitates private advisory boards for CEOs, senior executives and business owners. He lives in Bismarck, North Dakota. July 2014
  • Mary Gregoire, BS ’74, MS ’76, food and nutrition, was named executive director of the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics' accrediting agency for education programs preparing students for careers as registered dietitian nutritionists, or dietetic technicians, registered. She is professor and chair of the department of clinical nutrition at Rush University Medical Center. June 2014
  • Kathryn (Raymo) Kuhlman, BS ’72, home economics, MS ’83, textiles and clothing, retired from her position as Macon County's Extension Agent in 4-H Youth Development with North Carolina Cooperative Extension. She was inducted into the North Carolina 4-H Hall of Fame in 2013. She lives in Franklin, North Carolina. June 2014
  • George A. Watland, BS ’76, mathematics, MS ’80, computer science, MS ’08, natural resource management, was named senior chapter director of the Sierra Club Angeles Chapter. It is the oldest and largest chapter with 120,000 members and supporters in Los Angeles and Orange Counties, California. He lives in Tarzana, California. June 2014

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Tuesday, September 09, 2014 3:48:34 PM