Content | Navigation |

Customize your CMS experience

CMS offers several configuration options for you to customize CMS to your needs and make it work better for you.

Change startup module

When you log in to CMS, the About modules module opens by default.  To change this behavior

  1. Open the User settings module
  2. Select the Startup tab
  3. In the "Start up in the following module" drop-down list, select a module - the default is "About modules"
  4. Click Save Configuration

Display inline help

There is a significant amount of help available inline with CMS.  You can control the display of this help in the User > Setup module.

  1. Open the User settings module
  2. Click the Startup tab
  3. From the Context Sensitive Help mode drop-down list, choose an option
    • Display no help information will hide all inline help
    • Display help icon only will display a question-mark button.  Hovering the mouse cursor over this button will display quick help, or you can click the button for additional help (opens in a new window)
    • Display full text message will display the quick help directly in the CMS interface.  This is probably suitable only for beginners because it consumes a lot of screen space
  4. Click Save Configuration

Secondary options/palettes

Show secondary options/palettes displays as many options inline as possible (helps if you frequently forget to un-check "hide").  Note that you should save any page/content changes before proceeding.

While editing a page or content element

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the right frame
  2. Check Show secondary options (palettes)
  3. Click OK to accept that any un-saved changes will be lost (this is why you must save first and click second)

Show field descriptions

This option is useful for new CMS users.  It shows a brief description for each section to assist when entering content.  As with show secondary options, be sure to save any work before proceeding.

While editing a page or content element,

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the window
  2. Check Show field descriptions
  3. Click OK to accept that any un-saved changes will be lost (this is why you must save first and click second)

Recursive delete

Even though you have sufficient privileges to delete pages recursively, you must also "allow yourself" to delete pages recursively.  This is a safety feature to help you avoid accidental deletions.  To "release the safety,"

  1. Open the User settings module
  2. Select the the Edit & Advanced functions tab
  3. Check the Recursive Delete(!) check box
  4. Click the Save Configuration button

Reset preferences

In the event you need to reset your own preferences,

  1. Click the Reset all Values to default button
  2. Click OK in the confirmation dialog

Warning: if you "play" with options in the Setup module, no undo option is available.  Should you need your preferences reset by a CMS administrator, no attempt will be made to restore your previous settings.  Instead they will be set back to the system default.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
IT Help Desk: +1 (701) 231-8685
Physical address: IACC 206, 1320 Albrecht Blvd., Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 4530 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Content Management System

Last Updated: Monday, December 03, 2012 6:10:50 PM