Content | Navigation |

ECS FACULTY

F. Adnan Akyuz, Ph.D. 

University of Missouri-Columbia, 1994

Research Interests: Applied Climatology and Microclimatology/Climate Based Agriculture

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Allan C. Ashworth, Ph.D. (Allan.Ashworth@ndsu.edu)

University of Birmingham, 1969

Research Interests: Quaternary Paleoecology, Paleoclimatology


Peter Bergholz, Ph.D. (peter.bergholz@ndsu.edu)

Michigan State University, 2007

Research interests: Ecology of infectious diseases, environmental modeling, food safety, landscape genomics of microbes, microbial ecology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Achintya Bezbaruah, Ph.D (A.Bezbaruah@ndsu.edu)

University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2002 

Research Interests: Nanomaterials for Pollution Control, Recalcitrant and micro pollutants, Contaminant fate and transport, Small community water and wastewater treatment, Environmental sensors, Environmental management.

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mario E. Biondini, Ph.D. (Mario.Biondini@ndsu.edu)

Colorado State University, 1984

Research Interests: Study and Analysis of Ecosystems, Use of Multivariate Statistical Techniques in the Study of Ecosystems, Modeling of Ecological Systems, Landscape Ecology, Plant-Soil Relationships

______________________________________________________________________________________

William J. Bleier, Ph.D. (William.Bleier@ndsu.edu)

Texas Tech University, 1975

Research Interests: Vertebrate  Management, Habitat Management, Geographic Information Systems

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Malcolm G. Butler, Ph.D. (Malcolm.Butler@ndsu.edu)

Universityof Michigan, 1980

Research Interests:  Aquatic Invertebrate Biology, Limnology, Wetland Ecology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Patrick M. Carr, Ph.D. (pcarr@ndsuext.nodak.edu)

Montana State University, 1989

Research Interests: Sustainable Agriculture, Cropping Systems

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Frank X.M. Casey, Ph.D. (francis.casey@ndsu.edu)

Iowa State University, 2000

Research Interests: Field and Laboratory Studies of Water Flow and Chemical Transport Processes

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Amitava Chatterjee, Ph.D.  (Amitava.Chatterjee@ndsu.edu)

University of Wyoming, 2007

Research Interests: Greenhouse gas Emissions and Climate Change, Soil Carbon Sequestration, Natural Resource Management, Agricultural Soil Fertility

______________________________________________________________________________________

Xuefeng (Michael) Chu, Ph.D. (xuefeng.chu@ndsu.edu)

University of California, 2002

Research Interests: Watershed hydrologic and enviromental modeling, overland flow and infiltration, and integrated modeling

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Larry Cihacek, Ph.D. (Larry.Cihacek@ndsu.edu)

Iowa State University, 1979

Research Interests: Carbon Sequestration in Soils, Soil Physical Properties, Soil Management for Waste Disposal

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Gary K. Clambey, Ph.D. (Gary.Clambey@ndsu.edu)

Iowa State University, 1975

Research Interests: Ecology and Biogeography, Environmental Analysis and Planning, Structure Function Relations in the Midwestern Ecosystems

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Mark E. Clark, Ph.D. (M.E.Clark@ndsu.edu)

University of Tennessee, 1996

Research Interests: Population Ecology, Landscape Ecology, Fish and Wildlife Ecology, Ecological Modeling, Spatial Modeling, Species Interactions

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Davis Cope, Ph.D. (Davis.Cope@ndsu.edu)

Vanderbilt University, 1980

Research Interests: Partial Differential Equations, Numerical Methods, Applied Mathematics

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Dennis Cooley, Ph.D.(Dennis.Cooley@ndsu.edu)

University of Rochester, 1995 

Research Interests:Ethics of Science

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

David B. Danbom, Ph.D. (David.Danbom@ndsu.edu)

Stanford University, 1974

Research Interests: Agriculture and Rural Life, Recent U.S., Progressive Period

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Shawn DeKeyser, Ph.D. (Edward.Dekeyser@ndsu.edu)

North Dakota State University, 2000   Research Interests:  wetland assessment and ecology, riparian assessment and management, wetland and prairie restoration, invasive species management, fire ecology, and herbarium management.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Anne Denton, Ph.D. (Anne.Denton@ndsu.edu) 

Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany, 1996 

Research Interests: Data Mining of Diverse Data especially Scientific Data, Bioinformatics

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Thomas M. DeSutter, Ph.D. (Thomas.DeSutter@ndsu.edu)

Kansas State University, 2004

Research Interest: Trace Gas Fluxes, Inorganic Soil Chemistry, Soil Environmental Conditions

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Ned A. Dochtermann, Ph.D. (Ned.Dochtermann@ndsu.edu)

University of Nevada, Reno, 2009

Research Interests: Population dynamics, implications of phenotypic and genetic variation, ecological and evolutionary modeling


Theodore L. Esslinger, Ph.D.

Duke University, 1974

Research Interests: Lichenology, Taxonomy, Chemosystematics, Floristics of Lichens, Emphasis on the Alectoriacea, Parmeliaceae and Physciacae

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Amy Ganguli, Ph.D. (Amy.Ganguli@ndsu.edu)

Oklahoma State University, 2005

Research Interests: Invasive Plant Species Ecology and Management, Restoration of Native Ecosystem Structure and Function, Disturbance Ecology (physical and biological domains of fire), Ecosystem Management, Plant Community Ecology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Erin Gillam, Ph.D. (Erin.Gillam@ndsu.edu)

University of Tennessee, 2007

Research Interests: Behavioral ecology of bats, ecological and evolutionary basis of behavior in all animal groups, behavioral, ecological, and evolutionary factors influence the structure of animal communication signals and wildlife ecology and conservation.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Gary A. Goreham, Ph.D. (Gary.Goreham@ndsu.edu)

South Dakota State University, 1985

Research Interests: Rural Sociology, Community, Family Research Methods, Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Agriculture

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Kendra Greenlee, Ph.D. (kendra.greenlee@ndsu.edu)

Arizona State University-Tempe, 2004

Research interests: Environmental and respiratory physiology of insects; insect immunology.


Timothy Greives, Ph.D. (Timothy.Greives@ndsu.edu)

Indiana University, 2009

Research Interests: Physiological ecology, life-history transitions, reproductive-immune trade-offs

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

James W. Grier, Ph.D. (James.Grier@ndsu.edu)

Cornell University, 1975

Research Interests: Animal Behavior and Ecology, Animal Population Dynamics, Applied Biostatistics, Philosophy of Research

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Jason Harmon, Ph.D. (jason.harmon@ndsu.edu)

University of Minnesota, 2003

Research Interests: Environmental change; ecosystem services; population and community ecology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Marion O. Harris, Ph.D. (Marion.Harris@ndsu.edu)

Michigan State University, 1986

Research Interests: Insect-Pest Management, Host-Plant Relationships

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Mark Harvey, Ph.D. (Mark.Harvey@ndsu.edu)

University of Wyoming, 1986

Research Interests: American West, Environmental History, Public History

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, Ph.D.(h.hatterman.valenti@ndsu.edu)

Iowa state University , 1993 

Research Interests: High-Value Crop Production

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Robert R. Hearne, Ph.D.(Robert.Hearne@ndsu.edu) 

University of Minnesota , 1995

Research Interests:Economic Analysis of Emerging Environmental and Resource Issues in the  Northern Great Plains 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

David Hopkins, Ph.D.(David.Hopkins@ndsu.edu)

North Dakota State University, 1997 

Research Interests: Soil Formation and Chemistry

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Tom Isern, Ph.D.(isern@plainsfolk.com)

Oklahoma State University, 1977

Research Interests: History of Agriculture, History of Great Plains

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Donna Jacob, Ph.D. (Donna.Jacob@ndsu.edu)

University College, Dublin, 2004 

Research Interests: Wetland ecology, biogeochemistry, ecophysiology and ecotoxicology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Xinhua Jia, Ph.D. (xinhua.jia@ndsu.edu)

University of Arizona

Research Interests: Evapotranspiration, Subsurface drainage and Water quality

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Dinesh Katti, Ph.D. (Dinesh.Katti@ndsu.edu)

University of Arizona, 1991 

Research Interests: Geotechnical Engineering, Constitutive Modeling of Geologic Materials, Expansive Soils, Multiscale Modeling, Steered Molecular Dynamics, Computational Mechanics, Nanocomposite, and Bio-nanocomposites. Computational Biophysics

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Eakalak Khan, Ph.D.(Eakalak.Khan@ndsu.edu)

UCLA, 1997 

Research Interests: water and wastewater treatment, site remediation, fate and transport of contaminants, and environmental biotechnology.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

F. Larry Leistritz, Ph.D.

University of Nebraska, 1970

Research Interests: Economic Development, Resource Economics

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Kenneth E. Lepper, Ph.D. (Ken.Lepper@ndsu.edu)

Oklahoma State University, 2001

Research Interests: Quaternary Geology and Age Dating

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Adam R. Lewis, Ph.D. (Adam.R.Lewis.1@ndsu.edu)

Boston University, 2005

Research Interests: Long-term Climate Evolution, Antarctic Climate Evolution, and Glacial Geology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Wei Lin, Ph.D. (Wei.Lin@ndsu.edu)

SUNY at Buffalo, 1992

Research Interests: Water and Wastewater Treatment, Hazardous Waste Management

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Zhulu Lin, Ph.D.

University of Georgia (www.uga.edu), 2003

Research Interests: Watershed assessment and management, Environmental systems analysis and modeling, and Environmental statistics

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

George M. Linz, Ph.D. (adjunct)

North Dakota State University, 1982

Research Interests:  Avian Ecology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

John McEvoy, Ph.D 

University of Ulster Northern Ireland, 2002 

Research Interests:Cryptosporidium Virulence Factors and Mechanisms of Pathogenesis

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Mark Meister, Ph.D. (Mark.Meister@ndsu.edu)

University of Nebraska, 1997

Research Interests:  Rhetorical and Critical Theory, Environmental Communication

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Jennifer Momsen, PhD. (Jennifer.Momsen@ndsu.edu)

Rutgers University, 2007

Research Interests: Ecology Education and Ecological Literacy.

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Bakr Mourad Aly Ahmed, Ph.D. 

Virginia Tech., 2001 

Research Interests: Sustainability Indicators and Implementation, Carrying Capacity Measurements, Coastal Development, Built Environment and Natural Resources Conservation

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Jack Norland, Ph.D.

North Dakota State University, 2008

Research interests: Restoration Ecology, Remote Sensing of Grasslands, Grassland Ecology, Managing Natural Resources for Resiliency 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Peter OduorPh.D.(Peter.Oduor@ndsu.edu) 

University of Missouri - Rolla, 2004 

Research Interests: Geographic Information Systems, Groundwater Flow Modeling, Groundwater Contamination

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Marinus Otte, Ph.D. (Marinus.Otte@ndsu.edu)

Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam, 1991 

Research Interests: Wetland ecology, Biogeochemistry, Ecophysiology and Ecotoxicology

__________________________________________________________________________________

G. Padmanabhan, Ph.D. (g.padmanabhan@ndsu.edu)

Purdue University, 1980

Research Interests: Hydrology, Water Resources, Hydraulic Engineering

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Birgit Pruess, Ph.D. (Birgit.Pruess@ndsu.edu)

Ruhr- Universitat Bochum, Germany, 1991 

Research Interest: Microbial Physiology and Gene Regulation 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Scott W. Pryor, Ph.D.  (scott.pryor@ndsu.edu)

Cornell University

Research Interests: Renewable energy and biobased products 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Wendy L. Reed, Ph.D. (Wendy.Reed@ndsu.edu)

Iowa State University, 2000

Research Interests:  Physiological Ecology, Wetland and Bird Ecology, Environmental Endocrinology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

David A. Rider, Ph.D. (David.Rider@ndsu.edu)

Louisiana State University, 1988

Research Interests:  Insect Systematics, Biodiversity

_____________________________________________________________________________________

David Ripplinger, Ph.D. (David.Ripplinger@ndsu.edu)

North Dakota State University, 2012

Research Interests: Environmental Life Cycle Assessment, Environmental Economics, Production Economics


David C. Roberts, Ph.D. (david.c.Roberts@ndsu.edu)

Oklahoma State University, 2009

Research Interests: Evaluation and design of economically efficient tools and ploicies for pollution control, economic valuation of environmental and ecological attributes through revealed and stated preference methods, valuation of environmental risk, and low-impact and precision agriculture

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, Ph.D. (bernhardt.saini-eidukat@ndsu.edu)

University of Minnesota, 1991

Research Interests: Environmental Geochemistry, Igneous Petrology, Economic Geology

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Donald P. Schwert, Ph.D. (donald.schwert@ndsu.edu)

University of Waterloo, 1978

Research Interests: Quaternary Paleoecology, Analysis of Fossil Insects

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Rahman Shafiqur, Ph.D. (S.Rahman@ndsu.edu)

Research Interests: Livestock waste management, anaerobic co-digestion of manure and agricultural wastes, air quality, water quality, and technologies for mitigating air pollution and greenhouse gases emissions from livestock production facilities.


Halis Simsek, Ph.D. (halis.simsek@ndsu.edu)

North Dakota State University, 2012

Research Interests: Bioenvironmental engineering, water and wastewater treatment, animal and agricultural waste management.


Dean D. Steele, Ph.D. (dean.steele@ndsu.edu)

University of Minnesota, 1991

Research Interests:  Irrigation and Environmental Engineering

 ____________________________________________________________________________________

Craig A. Stockwell, Ph.D. (Craig.Stockwell@ndsu.edu)

University of Nevada, 1995

Research Interests:  Conservation Biology, Evolutionary Ecology of Native Fishes, Human-Wildlife Interactions

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Steve E. Travers, Ph.D.(Steven.Travers@ndsu.edu) 

University of California, 1998 

Research Interests: Plant Evolutionary Ecology

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Dennis Wiesenborn, Ph.D. (Dennis.Wiesenborn@ndsu.edu)

Rice University, 1989

Research Interests: Process engineering, Sustainable or “green” processing, and Products from renewable resources

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Brian D. Wisenden, Ph.D. (Adjunct) (wisenden@mnstate.edu)

University of Western Ontario, 1993

Research interests: Behavioral ecology of fishes, chemical ecology of predator-prey interactions, parental care and mating systems

_____________________________________________________________________________________

George Youngs, Ph.D. (George.Youngs@ndsu.edu)

University of Iowa, 1981

Research Interests: Perceived Ethics of Genetically Modified Organisms, Sustainable Agriculture


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Provide footer content in Storage > FOOTER1

Last Updated: Thursday, April 25, 2013 10:15:30 AM