Content | Navigation |

Faculty Senate

 


GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Academic Year 2014-2015


Committee Members

Name

Representation Unit

Phone

Email

Term Expires

Amy Rupiper Taggart

Office of the Provost, Assessment Director (Chair)

1-8824

amy.rupipertaggart@ndsu.edu

Ex-officio

Beth Twomey

NDSU Libraries

1-8141

beth.twomey@ndsu.edu

Ex-officio

Connie Eggers

Professional Adviser Liaison

1-9847

connie.eggers@ndsu.edu

Ex-officio

Cole Davidson

Registration & Records

1-6430

cole.davidson@ndsu.edu

Ex-officio

Larry Peterson

University Assessment Office

1-8824

larry.r.peterson@ndsu.edu

Ex-officio

Marion Harris

Ag., Food Systems, & Natural Resources

1-6445

marion.harris@ndsu.edu

May 2016

Dale Sullivan

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

1-7144

dale.sullivan@ndsu.edu

May 2017

Joe Mike Jones

Business

1-5876

joseph.jones@ndsu.edu

May 2014

David Wells

Engineering

1-7283

david.l.wells@ndsu.edu

May 2017

Justin Wageman

Human Development & Education

1-7439

justin.wageman@ndsu.edu

May 2016

Craig Schnell

Pharmacy, Nursing, & Allied Sciences

1-8838

craig.schnell@ndsu.edu

May 2017

Robert Gordon

Science & Mathematics

1-6731

robert.d.gordon@ndsu.edu

May 2017

Quincy Carter

Student

1-8461

quincy.carter@ndsu.edu

May 2015

Jake Lynch

Student

1-8461

jacob.m.lynch@ndsu.edu

May 2015

Committee Meeting Schedule

Meetings are scheduled for Fridays at 9:00 in the Memorial Union's Peace Garden Room unless otherwise noted.

DATE

MINUTES

September 12, 2014NEXT MEETING

October 10, 2014

November 14, 2014

December 12, 2014

Faculty Senate Bylaws: Article IV, Section 10

  1. Voting membership shall consist of one tenured faculty member from each representation unit, a representative from the Assessment Committee, and two students selected by the Student Government.

  2. Non-voting members shall consist one representative from each of the following: the NDSU Library, Registration and Records, and the Provost (or designee).

  3. Committee responsibilities include:
    1. Ensuring that existing courses and experiences meet general education requirements.
    2. Developing criteria and procedures for submitting, evaluating, and approving courses and experiences that meet general education requirements of NDSU and the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.
    3. Developing criteria and procedures for submitting, evaluating, and approving courses or experiences that meet the general education requirements for integration into students’ curricula.
    4. Coordinating and recommending actions to the Faculty Senate on proposals for approving general education courses.
    5. Providing periodic assessment of students’ attainment of intended student outcomes in general education.
    6. Studying, coordinating, and recommending to the Faculty Senate policies and procedures for continuing improvement in general education.
    7. Selecting two representatives and one alternate for the North Dakota General Education Council.

General Education Program

The purpose of general education at NDSU is to ensure that students acquire knowledge, perspectives, and skills associated with a university education. The program is designed so that graduates will be able to adapt to and anticipate changes in their profession and in society. Graduates also will be able to integrate and use the knowledge and perspectives they have gained to live productive, intellectually rewarding, and meaningful lives.

Intended Student Outcomes:
  1. Communicate effectively in a variety of contexts and formats.
  2. Locate and use information for making appropriate personal and professional decisions.
  3. Comprehend the concepts and perspectives needed to function in national and international societies.
  4. Comprehend intra personal and interpersonal dynamics.
  5. Comprehend concepts and methods of inquiry in science and technology, and their applications for society.
  6. Integrate knowledge and ideas in a coherent and meaningful manner.
  7. Comprehend the need for lifelong learning.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY
NDSU Faculty Senate

Page Manager: Office of Registration and Records

Last Updated: Monday, September 15, 2014 10:12:06 AM