Content | Navigation |

Graduate School


NDSU in Perspective

A Bit of History

On March 8, 1890, the state's first governor, John Miller, signed the bill designating the land to establish a college of agriculture and mechanic arts, the North Dakota Agricultural College, as a part of the Morrill Act of 1862. In 1960, the name was changed to North Dakota State University.

The Graduate School

Graduate students were first accepted in 1895, and a formal announcement of graduate studies has been carried in the bulletins since 1902.

The Graduate School was formalized July 1, 1954, by approval of the North Dakota Board of Higher Education. Graduate studies were administered by a Graduate Council from November 1949 to June 1954, and before that by a Graduate Committee.

The first Master of Science degree was awarded in 1899. Since then, graduate students have been in regular attendance and have participated in the scholarly activity of the campus. The number of degrees awarded increased noticeably after 1920 and again after 1950 in reflection of general trends in higher education in the United States.

In 1959, the North Dakota Board of Higher Education first authorized certain departments to offer the Doctor of Philosophy degree. The first Ph.D. degrees were awarded in 1963.

NDSU Today

North Dakota State University is the state's first Morrill Act land-grant institution. Located on the state's eastern border in Fargo, North Dakota's largest city, the university strives to be a leader in information systems, technology transfer, economic development, and lifelong learning; and encompasses a broad spectrum of curricular offerings, scholarly activity, and service. It is one of two major research universities in an eleven-institution state university system.

NDSU has enjoyed steady enrollment growth for the past decade. Current enrollment is over 14,000 students on the campus in Fargo. Over 2, 100 are gradute students. NDSU also serves several thousand people throughout the state in continuing education and extension programs.

Instruction is carried out in nine academic units: the Colleges of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources; Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences; Business Administration; Engineering and Architecture; Human Development and Education; Pharmacy; Science and Mathematics; University Studies; and the Graduate School.

NDSU has 44 doctoral and professional programs, 63 master's degree programs, 9 certificate programs and 102 bachelor's degree programs. The North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station and NDSU Extension Service are integral parts of the University.

NDSU participates in the Tri-College University consortium with neighboring Minnesota State University Moorhead and Concordia College. NDSU has approximately 1,500 staff members and 950 faculty and academic staff.

The Fargo-Moorhead Community

Named one of the most desirable places in the country to live by Money magazine, Fargo is quietly earning a reputation as a perfect place to make a home. Nestled in the rich farmlands of the Red River Valley, the Fargo-Moorhead community has many qualities that contribute to this reputation, including a highly respected educational system; advanced medical technology; a progressive business community; numerous cultural and arts opportunities; clean air and water; and good-hearted, friendly people.

With more than 163,000 people in the community and about 500,000 people in the service area, Fargo-Moorhead is among the largest metropolitan centers between Minneapolis and Seattle.One of the reasons people choose NDSU as a place to get a good education is that the F-M community provides students access to part-time jobs, internships, parks and other recreational facilities, entertainment, and cultural amenities.

Tri-College University

Tri-College University is a consortium of the three Fargo-Moorhead institutions of higher education: North Dakota State University, Concordia College, and Minnesota State University Moorhead. Through the Tri-College course exchange, students can take courses on the other two campuses without going through separate admissions procedures. Tuition is paid only to the home school. Guidelines are available in the general NDSU Bulletin and from the registrar.

Bus service is provided among the campuses daily during the academic year.

Reciprocal parking arrangements are available for students who wish to drive to the other schools.

Students may use the library resources of all three schools. This highly effective sharing of library resources is facilitated by a combined serials listing and twice-daily delivery service.

Several academic programs are conducted jointly by the three schools. Master of Science, Master of Education, and Educational Specialist degrees in Educational Leadership are offered through the Tri-College University. The scope of opportunities for students is expanded by the sharing and coordination of programs and services among the many academic departments within the three schools.

Continuing Education

Continuing Education is an outreach unit of the university that makes the resources of the institution available in a variety of ways, including distance-based education. Courses, locations, and delivery systems are planned in response to requests and identified needs.

Continuing Education activities fall into three main categories: on- and off-campus credit courses, non-credit activities, and learning opportunities mediated via technology. Admission to NDSU is required to enroll in Continuing Education courses, which are numbered 601 or above. Individuals interested in enrolling in degree eligible credit activities must complete application procedures through the Graduate School.

Administration of Graduate Studies


North Dakota State University is accredited at the doctoral level by the Commission on Colleges and Universities of the North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools.

State Board of Higher Education

Created by constitutional amendment in 1939, the State Board of Higher Education is the governing body of North Dakota State University and all other state-supported institutions of higher education in North Dakota.The nine-member State Board of Higher Education is the policy-setting body for the North Dakota University System and consists of seven citizen members who serve four-year terms and who are appointed by the governor, one student who is also appointed by the governor for a one-year term, and one faculty member who is selected by the Council of College Faculties.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

NDSU Graduate School
Phone: +1 (701) 231-7033
Campus address:  106 Putnam Hall
Physical/delivery address:  NDSU Graduate School/106 Putnam Hall/1349 12th Avenue Northwest/Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address:  NDSU Dept. 2820/PO Box 6050/Fargo, ND 58108
Page manager: NDSU Graduate School

Last Updated: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:14:48 PM