Content | Navigation |

HDFS Faculty

James E. Deal (Ph.D., University of Georgia)
Professor and Head

Office Phone: 701-231-7568
Email: jim.deal@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child Development 
Research Interests: Personality development in children; Relationship between individual development and family relationships 

Kristen Benson (Ph.D., Virginia Tech)
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-5879
Email:kristen.benson@ndsu.edu 
Core Area: Couple and Family Therapy 
Research Interests: gender identity and family/partner relationships, diversity issues in family therapy, collaborative approaches to family therapy education and training, and qualitative methodology 

Elizabeth Blodgett Salafia (Ph.D., University of Notre Dame)
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701- 231-7099
Email: Elizabeth.salafia@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Adolescent Development 
Research Interests: Family and peer influences on adolescents disordered eating attitudes and behaviors 
Eating Disorder and Body Image Lab 

Sean Brotherson (Ph.D., Oregon State University)
Extension Family Science Specialist, Associate Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-6143
Email: sean.brotherson@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Family Science
Research Interests:
 Parenting and fatherhood; Health marriages; Family stress; Rural families; Grief and bereavement; Family life education; Family policy 

Kim Bushaw, (M.S., North Dakota State University)
Extension Family Science Specialist

Office Phone: 701-231-7450
Email: kim.bushaw@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Family Science

 

Margaret Fitzgerald (Ph.D., Iowa State University)
Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-8280
Email:margaret.fitzgerald@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Family Economics and Policy 
Research Interests:
 Financial counseling and planning; Husbands and wives who own and operate family businesses together; Family business and economically vulnerable/viable communities; Gender and management issues in family business 

Heather Fuller-Iglesias (Ph.D., University of Michigan)
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-5621
Email:Heather.Fuller-Iglesias@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Adult Development and Aging
Research Interests:
 Social relationships across the lifespan (e.g. intergenerational relationships); Psychological well-being in old age; Culture and Aging; Migration, transnationalism and acculturation; Biculturalism 

Joel Hektner (Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Associate Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-8269
Email: joel.hektner@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child, Adolescent Development
Research Interests
: Aggressive children; Research methods; Prevention programs for high-risk aggressive children; Peer affiliation patterns and peer influences on children's behaviors; Family and school conditions that facilitate optimal experiences (flow) and optimal development; The Experience Sampling Method 

Nancy Kaler (M.S., University of North Dakota)
Senior Lecturer

Office Phone: 701-231-7843
Email: Nancy.Kaler@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Consumer education, internships in HDFS 

Christi McGeorge (Ph.D., University of Minnesota)
Associate Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-7335
Email: Christine.McGeorge@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Couple and Family Therapy and Family Science 
Research Interests:
 Heterosexism and homophobia; Single parenting; Women's history; Gender socialization from a feminist perspective

Melissa Lunsman O'Connor (Ph.D., University of South Florida)
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-8268
Email:melissa.oconnor@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Adult Development and Aging
Research Interests: Examining age-related differences and changes in cognitive and functional abilities, such as driving, among healthy adults and clinical populations; quantitative methods and psychometrics; interventions for improving cognition, health, and everyday functioning; and attitudes toward dementia.

Debra Pankow (Ph.D., South Dakota State University)
Extension Family Economics Specialist, Associate Professor

Candace Philbrick (Ph.D., North Dakota State University)
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-8268
Email: Candace.philbrick@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Gerontology 

Sharon Query (Ph.D., Iowa State University)
4-H Youth Specialist/Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-5923
Email: Sharon.Query@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Consumer and Family Sciences, Adolescent Development, Afterschool Training. 

Brandy A. Randall (Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Associate Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-8742
Email: Brandy.Randall@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child, Adolescent Development
Relational and contextual influences on adolescents' and young adults' positive and problem behaviors

Divya Saxena, (M.S., North Dakota State University)
Extension, HDFS Family Science Associate

Office Phone: 701-231-5948
Email: divya.saxena@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Parent Education, School Readiness, Quality of relationships
Research Interests: Grandparenting, Intergenerational relationships; Family life education; Early intervention and early childhood education

Website: Gearing Up for Kindergarten

Lori Scharmer (M.S.)
Extension, Family Economic Specialist

Office Phone: Minot 701-857-7682  Fargo 701-231-8652
Email: lori.scharmer@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Family Economics

 Website: Family Economics

Tom Stone Carlson (Ph.D., Iowa State University)
 Professor, CFT Program Coordinator

Office Phone: 701-231-8279
Email: tom.carlson@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Couple and Family Therapy and Family Science 
Research Interests Include: influence of homophobia and heterosexism on clinical practice and training, evaluation of LGBT affirmative therapy competence among therapists, evaluation of feminist and social justice training practices and influence of spirituality of clinical practice and training.

Jane Strommen, (M.S.)
Extension Gerontology Specialist

Office Phone: 701-231-5948
Email: jane.strommen@ndsu.edu

 

 

Wendy Troop-Gordon (Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-8738
Email: Wendy.Troop@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child, Adolescent Development; Research Methods and Statistics
Research Interests: Peer victimization; social cognition; contextual factors that influence social interactions among children; forms of aggression and their relation to psychological and school adjustment; the impact of self- and peer-perceptions on well-being 

Ann Werlinger (M.S., North Dakota State University)
Lecturer

Office: EML 277E 
Phone is 231-9790
Email: Ann.Werlinger@ndsu.edu 

Rebecca Woods (Ph.D., Texas A&M University)
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: 701-231-9791
Email: Rebecca.woods@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Infant & toddler development
Research Interests: Perception and cognition in infancy; object processing; multimodal processing
Infant Cognitive Development Lab 

Dena Wyum (M.S., North Dakota State University)
Lecturer: Human Development and Family Science and Women and Gender Studies

Office Phone: 701-231-77553
Email: Dena.Wyum@ndsu.edu 

Academic Adviser

Dani Kvanvig-Bohnsack, (M.A., North Dakota State University)
Academic Advisor

Office Phone: 701-231-9849
Email: Danielle.Kvanvig@ndsu.edu
Dani advises freshman and sophomores in Human Development Family Science (HDFS), Elementary Education with HDFS and Social Work with HDFS.

Link to: Schedule an Appointment with Dani Kvanvig-Bohnsack

Academic Advising Frequently Asked Questions

Social Work Faculty

Amy Phillips (MSSW, Columbia University; PhD, University of North Dakota)
Associate Professor (Minot State University)
Site Coordinator, Minot State University Social Work Program
Office Phone: 701-231-9792
Office: EML Hall 277
Email:amy.phillips@minotstateu.edu


Trude Hendrickson

Adjunct Faculty (Minot State University)
Field Coordinator, Minot State University Social Work Program
Office Phone: 701-231-5742
Office: EML Hall 283
Email: trude.hendrickson@minotstateu.edu

HDFS Staff

Michelle Pearson
Coordinator Family Therapy Center
Email: Michelle.Pearson@ndsu.edu

Theresa Anderson
HDFS Academic Assistant

Office Phone: 701-231-8268
Email:Theresa.Anderson@ndsu.edu 

Cindy Selstedt
HDFS Extension Administrative Secretary

Office Phone: 701-231-8652
Email: Cynthia.selstedt@ndsu.edu

 


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Site Manager: Theresa.Anderson@ndsu.edu
Published by North Dakota State University

Last Updated: Tuesday, July 15, 2014 11:31:31 AM