Content | Navigation |

Presidential search committee narrows list

The NDSU Presidential Search Committee has begun paring down the list of potential candidates in the selection process for the university’s 14th president.

Meeting on March 4, the committee decided to move 12 of 24 candidates to the next step of the process. In that step, three-member teams will check the listed references of the dozen candidates.

Committee chair Steve Swiontek expects, however, some additional applications may yet be received. “We will possibly see some additional candidates. Probably by the time we get done with the process, there will be about 30 candidates who have applied,” he said. “That’s comparable to what we have seen in other college presidential searches in the Upper Midwest.”

He said North Dakota’s open records law requires candidates’ names to be made public, and that may have had an impact on the number of candidates. He added that some potential candidates have recently accepted new positions.

“It’s important to look at the candidates who have actually applied,” Swiontek said. “A lot of them have land grant and research experience. We are comfortable with the people we have. There is a good pool of candidates to look at.”

The 12 candidates who will have reference checks are:

• Richard Hanson, NDSU president;

• D.C. Coston, NDSU vice president for agriculture and university extension;

• Thomas Keon, dean of business administration at the University of Central Florida;

• Dean Bresciani, former vice president for student affairs at Texas A&M University;

• Geri Hockfield Malandra, Malandra Consulting and former vice chancellor for strategic management at the University of Texas System;

• Stanley Battle, consultant for Connecticut State University System and former chancellor of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University;

• Priscilla Nelson, professor of civil and environmental engineering at New Jersey Institute of Technology;

• Susan Kelly, a consultant who recently was president of Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles;

• Don Birx, vice chancellor/president for research at University of Houston System;

• John Gardner, vice president for economic development and global engagement at Washington State University;

• Benjamin Ogles, dean of arts and sciences at Ohio University; and

• William Ruud, president at Shippensburg University.

The committee will meet on March 24 to compare information about the reference checks. The committee has been charged with providing the State Board of Higher Education with at least three unranked candidates for the board’s consideration.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-8326 - Fax: (701) 231-8969
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU It's Happening at State

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013