Content | Navigation |



Mechanical engineering students compete at district competition

Published: 25 April 2011

Area students successfully represented NDSU at the American Society of Mechanical Engineers District C – Student Professional Development Conference Competition April 14-16 in Lawrence, Kan. Eight students participated in four Old Guard Program Competitions, including technical design, oral presentation, technical webpage and technical poster.

NDSU students earned third place in the Old Guard Technical Design Competition, ahead of approximately 20 teams, including Purdue University, University of Minnesota at Twin Cities and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The title of the competition was "H2GO."  The most important feature of the NDSU students' design was keeping the costs low but maintaining an effective design.

NDSU students also received first place in the Old Guard Technical Webpage Competition for the second consecutive year. Students designed a website to effectively communicate a subject related to the field of mechanical engineering.

“Our student section is considered as one of the most active student sections in our district,” said Fardad Azarmi, assistant professor of mechanical engineering and the ASME student adviser. The students received a certificate of recognition for their outstanding participation.

Additionally, Azarmi was appointed to represent district C (Midwest) at the national ASME annual meeting in June in Dallas.

According to, ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods.

“ASME is the most important organization for mechanical engineers all around the world,” Azarmi said. “ASME promotes mechanical engineering among people and tries to show the importance of this field of engineering to the students.”

Student team members include Joshua Seppelt, Foley, Minn.; Robert Neubauer, Bottineau, N.D.; Alex Finn, Maple Lake, Minn.; Aaron Dunbar, Cambridge, Minn.; Trenton Bovitz, Brooklyn Park, Minn.; Jesse Janson, Sauk Rapids, Minn.; Peter Bockhaus, Cold Spring, Minn.; and Alex Jennings, Zimmerman, Minn.

For more information, contact Azarmi at 231-9784 or

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013