Content | Navigation |



Bison Athletic Hall of Fame to induct 40th annual class

Published: 27 September 2011

NDSU will induct its 40th annual class of seven new members into the Bison Athletic Hall of Fame and its fifth team into the Bison Athletic Hall of Champions on Friday, Sept. 30. The addition of the seven new members will bring the number of individuals enshrined to 245.

The newest members of the Hall are the 1991 NCAA Division II national champion women's basketball team, former men's golf coach Steve Weidner, all-region baseball outfielder Chuck Erickson, NCAA national champion wrestler Steve Carr, All-NCAA Elite Eight forward Lori (Roufs) Hanson, All-NCAA Elite Eight guard Jen Rademacher, All-America running back Tony Satter and recently retired National Hall of Fame wrestling coach Bucky Maughan.

The announcement was made by Hall of Fame committee chair Lee Petersen.

The induction will take place at the Holiday Inn in Fargo. Lunch is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. with the induction ceremonies to start at 11:30 a.m. A limited number of tickets will be available from the NDSU Athletic Media Relations Office (701-231-7197) for $25 per ticket.

The 1991 Bison women’s basketball team compiled a 31-2 record. The squad defeated Southeast Missouri State University by a score of 81-74 in the title game.

Weidner was the NDSU men’s golf coach from 1982-94, and was named District 5 Coach of the Year for the 1990-91 season. He chaired the Fargo-Moorhead Junior All-City Championship from 1979-94 and was a board member of the Minnesota Professional Golfers Association of America.

Carr was the 1983 NCAA Division II national champion at 134 pounds. He was a two-time All-American, with a collegiate career record of 132-38-2.

Erickson was an NCAA Division II All-District IV selection in 1981 and 1982. A four-year starter for the Bison, the outfielder also was named twice to the All-North Central Conference team.

Hanson was a forward for an NDSU team that won four consecutive national championships from 1993-96. In 1995, she was a Kodak All-District selection, Daktronics Division II All-Region second team member and a member of the All-NCAA Regional Team.

Rademacher played guard for the same champion Bison women’s basketball teams. She was the 1996 NCAA Regional Most Valuable Player and North Dakota’s NCAA Woman of the Year. She was a two-time NCAA Elite eight All-Tournament team member.

Satter was a two-time All-American for Bison football teams that won national titles in 1988 and 1990. He also was chosen twice to the All-North Central Conference first team.

Maughan was NDSU’s wrestling coach from 1964-2011. He led the Bison to four NCAA Division II national championships and 17 North Central Conference titles. He is a member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The group also will be recognized at the NDSU-Illinois State homecoming football game Oct. 1.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013