Content | Navigation |



NDSU Green and Golden Globe Diversity Awards presented

Published: 11 May 2012

The third annual Green and Golden Globe Diversity Awards Ceremony was held April 16 in the Memorial Union Great Plains Ballroom. The NDSU Division of Equity, Diversity and Global Outreach created the ceremony to acknowledge the efforts of students, faculty and staff from across the university who create a welcoming, safe and inclusive environment where all people can learn and work.

This year’s ceremony also extended off campus with awards that recognized the individuals or agencies in the community who foster diversity and support NDSU programs. “In extending our awards to the community, we demonstrate our gratitude for their support and efforts, as well as express that NDSU is proud to be a part of the Fargo-Moorhead community,” said Regina Ranney, diversity program coordinator. “It is good for our supportive community members to have the opportunity to meet the students, faculty and staff that they have impacted.”

Also new to this year’s ceremony was the Judge Bright Diversity Leadership Scholarship, which is named after Myron Bright, who has considered more than 6,000 cases as judge for the 8th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals. Bright attended the ceremony and directed attendees to embrace and welcome diversity, because so many family histories include starting over in a new place, Ranney said.

Glorina Bola Pendie, president of the Multicultural Student Organization, received the scholarship in recognition of her leadership skills in fostering a diverse and inclusive environment at NDSU.

“Highlighting the positive can only have positive consequences,” Ranney said. “Our awardees become a group of unofficial mentors that the campus and community can look to as an example of being welcoming, engaged members of the NDSU campus and greater community.”

The award recipients include:

Academic Honors

  • Gates Millennium Scholars – Shawnta Marie Everett, Jane Lang Loueng, Mamie Lynn Mastenbrook and Samuel Oluwatuminu Ogunyemi
  • Annexstad Family Foundation Scholarships – Nicholas Warren Nelson
  • Matthew Shepard Scholarship – Matthew Michael McCarty

Office of International Programs

  • John and Susan Wold Study Abroad Scholarship – Travis Mack
  • International Programs Junior/Senior Scholarship Recipients – Vaibhav Aggarwal, Tanvi Sharma, Wei Yang Lim, Gerardo Zamora, Jingyang Xiao, Walter Kurrle Lanza, Ranganathan Prabaharan Jasothan, Peta-Gaye Clachar, Intiaz Chowdhury and Ya-Chiao Yang

Green and Golden Diversity Awards

  • Faculty – Chiwon Lee, Plant Sciences
  • Staff – Karin Hegstad, Customer Account Services
  • Student – Minami Yamane
  • Student Organization – Saudi Student Association and Nepalese Student Association
  • Community Person/Agency – Jay Krabbenhoft, vice president, office services manager, Gate City Bank

Equity and Diversity Center

  • LGBTQ Student Scholarship – Kong Kit Wong and Tyler Specht
  • NDSU Student U.S. Veterans Scholarship – Daniel Stroup IV

Green and Golden Globe Diversity Awards

  • Faculty – Ann Burnett, Women and Gender Studies
  • Staff – Sarah Dodd, Student Life
  • Student – Joshua Boe
  • Student Organization – Hispanic Organization of Latin Americans
  • Community Person/Agency – Deb White, NEW Women’s Leadership

Office of Multicultural Programs

  • Judge Bright Diversity Leadership Scholarship – Glorina Bola Pendie
  • Ram Lal Jauhar Memorial Scholarship – Mumina Abdullah Ibrahim
  • Dr. Prem and Raj Jauhar Book Scholarship – Jessica Hernandez

Green and Golden Globe Diversity Awards

  • Faculty – Denise Lajimodiere, School of Education
  • Staff – Aida Martinez-Freeman, TRIO
  • Student – Austin Allard
  • Student Organization – Multicultural Student Organization
  • Community Person/Agency – Cargill

Tribal College Liaison Initiative

Green and Golden Globe Diversity Awards

  • Faculty – Bruce Maylath, English
  • Staff – Sue Isbell, Extension County Programs
  • Student – Courtney Redwing
  • Student Organization – Native American Student Association
  • Community Person/Agency – Sacred Spirits

Diversity Impact Award – Pride Network

Sudhir Mehta Memorial Faculty Travel Awards – Elizabeth Erichsen, assistant professor of education; Samee Khan, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering; Amy Werremeyer, assistant professor of pharmacy practice

Sudhir Mehta Memorial Study Abroad Scholarship – Tony Haas

Vice President’s Green and Golden Globe Diversity Awards – Residence Life

NDSU is student focused and committed to its land-grant mission.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013