Content | Navigation |



Northern Crops Institute board elects officers

Published: 02 August 2012

Members of the Northern Crops Council re-elected Robert Majkrzak as chair at the group’s reorganizational meeting June 26. He is president and chief executive officer of Red River Commodities, Fargo. The Northern Crops Council is the governing board of the Northern Crops Institute, which is located on the NDSU campus in Fargo.

Majkrzak represents processors and marketers of food and feed products. He joined the council in 2007.

Karolyn Zurn, a producer from Callaway, Minn., was re-elected vice chair. Zurn represents the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association. Her first term on the council began in 2009.

The Northern Crops Council is composed of six seats that are permanently occupied by the NDSU president, North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture and North Dakota Wheat Commission representatives, North Dakota Oilseed Council, North Dakota Barley Council and North Dakota Soybean Council. An additional 11 seats are filled by producers and food processors from Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota, who gain seats on the council through election by the permanent members.

Two new members joined the council. Dwight Mork, a producer from Bellingham, Minn., was elected by the Minnesota Corn Growers Association. Keith Peltier, president and chief executive officer of Proseed, Harvey, N.D., will represent processors and marketers of food and feed products. He also serves on the board of directors of the Northern Canola Growers Association.

At the Industry Advisory Board meeting June 25, John McLean, Cargill, West Fargo, was re-elected to his sixth term as chair.

The Industry Advisory Board advises Northern Crops Institute staff on educational programming and technical services. The board draws its members from the agricultural supply and processing industry and the grain trade in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota and the region.

NDSU is recognized as one of the nation's top 108 public and private universities by the Carnegie Commission on Higher Education.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013