Content | Navigation |



Department award to recruit, retain and advance women faculty

Published: 26 March 2013

The Commission on the Status of Women Faculty invites nominations/self-nominations of departments for the 2013 Advance FORWARD Award. The $5,000 award is given to the academic department that makes the greatest progress in supporting and advancing the five core FORWARD goals: 


  • Improve climate: Strategies to improve climate in the department and narrow the gap between men’s and women’s perceptions of the campus climate. 
  • Enhance recruitment: Strategies to recruit women, women of color and women with disabilities. 
  • Increase retention: Strategies to retain women in the department through the probationary period and the promotion/ tenure process. 
  • Promote and advance women: Strategies to support women associate professors as they move to full professor and to hire women at advanced ranks. 
  • Create leadership opportunities: Strategies to promote women faculty to academic leadership positions. 

For each nominee, the committee requests a brief statement, no more than two pages, as to what makes the nominee an exemplar department in terms of improvement of conditions, policies and practices at NDSU. Additionally, nominators should include the following information for each nominated department: 


  • How the department has worked toward one or more of the five goals established in the National Science Foundation Advance Grant, listed above. For each of the five goals, highlight three demonstrable areas: evidence of productive strategies, evidence of the effectiveness of each strategy and the sustainability of efforts – often through regularized policies and procedures. 
  • A copy of the department’s most recent annual report, 2011-12. 
  • Any other pertinent supporting documents. 

All departments are eligible for nomination. The review committee will be composed of individuals not affiliated with nominated departments to avoid conflicts of interest. 

The Commission on the Status of Women Faculty was created as part of NDSU’s National Science Foundation-funded Advance FORWARD program to improve campus climate; to enhance recruitment, retention and advancement of women faculty; and to open academic leadership opportunities. 

Nominations are due by April 22. Nominations should be emailed to Questions can be directed to Commission on the Status of Women Faculty chair Karen Froelich.

NDSU is recognized as one of the nation's top 108 public and private universities by the Carnegie Commission on Higher Education.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013