Content | Navigation |



NDSU students receive Doctoral Dissertation Awards

Published: 09 August 2013

Seven NDSU students are recipients of the Doctoral Dissertation Award program through North Dakota Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research. The recipients will receive stipend support ranging from 12 to 24 months, totaling $234,960. Collaboration with the NDSU Graduate School allowed for two more awards to be funded than was anticipated. A total of 30 students competed for the awards.

North Dakota EPSCoR’s Doctoral Dissertation Award program is designed to increase the completion rate of doctoral students enrolled in the science, engineering and mathematics disciplines at North Dakota’s two research-intensive universities; and to increase the number of competitive proposals submitted to the National Science Foundation.

Student recipients, their departments, and advisors are:

  • Nailah Almadi, computer science, Simone Ludwig
  • Heather Bergan, biological sciences, Mark Sheridan
  • Venkata Indurthi, pharmaceutical sciences, Stefan Vetter
  • Varsha Meghnani, pharmaceutical sciences, Estelle Leclerc
  • Hariharaputhiran Subramanian, chemistry and biochemistry, Mukund Sibi
  • Jonathan Totushek, mathematics, Sean Sather-Wagstaff
  • Jing Zhang, chemistry and biochemistry, Pinjing Zhao

North Dakota EPSCoR is a federally and state funded program designed to help university researchers compete more effectively for federal, regional and private research grants in the sciences, engineering and mathematics. For more information, visit

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013