Content | Navigation |

History

No other issue in the history of our campus has created a turnout like the smoking ban (Smoke-free Facilities Policy #153) measure in May 2009. Students turned out in record numbers and overwhelmingly voted on a campus-wide smoking ban. Moreover, in November 2009, staff and faculty voted in favor of the Smoke-free Facilities Policy through a "straw poll" administered by Staff and University Senate, respectively. Subsequently, staff and faculty voted in favor of the policy in their respective senate. The University Senate passed the policy on December 14, 2009. President Richard Hanson signed the policy on December 18, 2009, which will be effective on March 1, 2010.

Who is the Tobacco Project Committee?

 The committee was formed by the College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences with broad representation of students, staff, faculty, and includes community health specialist from Fargo Cass Public Health (FCPH).

 

Larry Anenson (FCPH)

Chelsey Matter (FCPH)

Bette Deede (FCPH)

Dean Gross (NDSU Faculty)

Gary Liguori (NDSU Faculty)

Wendy Brown (NDSU Faculty)

Laurel Aaberg (NDSU Pharmacy Student)

Amber Altstadt (NDSU Student Body President)

Pat Wilson (NDSU Emergency Management Student)

Kevin Black (NDSU Engineering Student)

Natasha Petry (NDSU Pharmacy Student)

Stacey Holm (Health Educator, NDSU Health Wellness Center)

Barbara Lonbaken (Dean, NDSU Health Wellness Center)

Charles D. Peterson (Dean, College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences)

Laura Oster-Aaland (Director, Orientation & Student Success)

Rita Prunty (NDSU Staff)

Bruce Frantz (Director, Facilities Management)

Christian B. Albano (NDSU Faculty)

Who is the President's Task Force on Policy 153?

To continue the work of the Tobacco Project Committee the President's Task Force on Policy 153 was officially created.  The committee charges include developing and implementing an educational program centered on creating awareness and respect of the policy, and developing enforcement procedures.  Specific focus areas include: outreach education and advertisement, enforcement team, neighborhood relations, campus signage, policy assessment, and campus space and facilities.

&nb

Name

Email

Sub-Committee

   Affolter, Shawn

shawn.affolter.2@ndsu.edu

Location/Boundaries

   Albano, Christian

christian.albano@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness

   Altstadt, Amber

amber.altstadt@ndsu.edu

Task Force Co-Chair

   Baker, Jennifer

jennifer.baker@ndsu.edu

Enforcement

   Black, Kevin

kevin.black@ndsu.edu

Enforcement

   Dorn, Lynn

lynn.dorn@ndsu.edu

Location/Boundaries

   Frazier, Emily

emily.frazier@ndsu.edu

Enforcement

   Harwood, Michael

michael.harwood@ndsu.edu

Location/Boundaries*

   Hauck, Lisa

lisa.hauck@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness

   Holm, Stacey

stacey.holm@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness

   Krishnan, R.S.

rs.krishnan@ndsu.edu

Enforcement

   McDaniel, Laura

laura.mcdaniel@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness*

   Miller, Kelsey Anne

kelsey.miller.1@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness

   Morrison, Donna

donna.morrison@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness

   Olson, Vance

vance.olson@ndsu.edu

Enforcement

   Oster-Aaland, Laura

laura.oster-aaland@ndsu.edu

Education & Awareness

   Peterson, Casey

casey.peterson@ndsu.edu

Enforcement*

   Schindlbeck, Kevin

kevin.schindlbeck@ndsu.edu

Location/Boundaries

   Stoskopf, Janna

janna.stoskopf@ndsu.edu

Task Force Co-Chair

 

If you have any questions or comments regarding the history please contact Amber Altstadt (amber.altstadt@ndsu.edu) or Christian Albano (christian.albano@ndsu.edu)


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-7456 / Fax: (701) 231-7606
Campus address: Sudro Hall 123
Physical/delivery address: 1401 Albrecht Boulevard, Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 2650 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences

Last Updated: Tuesday, July 16, 2013 9:07:59 AM