This page is best viewed in Firefox. Zoom in or out as needed.

ND Governor’s School

Program in

English Studies

Summer 2012


Click here for Word Press Site —the place where everything happens

Click here for photos

Click here for magazines

 

 


Important Websites

English Studies WordPress
This is where you will post assignments, participate in online discussions, read course materials—anything and everything "English Studies."

Portfolio Assignment

Independent Project Assignment

Main NDSU GS page

Main NDSU GS Schedule

NDSU College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

NDSU Department of English

Cool Websites for English Majors



       


   

GREETINGS!

Welcome to the North Dakota Governor's School program in English Studies.

During your six-week stay, you will gain an intensive overview of the many disciplines within English Studies, including some cutting-edge electronic and Web explorations.  You will work intensively on a project of your choosing, produce and publish in your own online magazines, and complete a final Portfolio for later use in your life.

And: you will have what we hope will be a challenging, inspirational, and uncommon experience in English.


English Staff

Cindy.Nichols@ndsu.edu   Coordinator
218-329-5009   or 218-236-8233   

Steven.Hammer@ndsu.edu  Teacher
218-329-5863

Davin.Wait@ndsu.edu  Teacher
218-640-1602   

Jade.Sandbulte@ndsu.edu  Magazine Director and WordPress Wizard
507-227-0032


Activities & Schedule Overview

Each day, following your morning Life and Leadership period, you will get a crash course in some of the many disciplines in English Studies. You'll hear lectures, participate in group discussions, write independently as well as collaboratively, perform thinking and writing exercises, and venture out and around campus. Ultimately, you will complete an Independent Project and Portfolio, publish your own magazines, and present some of your original work to the larger Governor's School community and even the nation (see the Fargo Hall of the National Gallery of Writing on the National Council for Teachers of English website)

Where To Find Us

IACC 116 and Morrill 103

We will occasionally be in the Union Coffee Shop or elsewhere, as noted on the schedule below. (Note: you must have an instructor or counselor accompanying you across 12th Ave. to Jitters.)



    

DAILY SCHEDULE

Week 1

Mon. June 4

Tues. June 5

Wed. June 6

Thurs. June 7

Fri. June 8

 

IACC 116

Overview of English Studies

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

9:30-11:00: Creative Writing

12:00-1:30: Literature

1:30-3:00: Comp/Rhet

3:00-4:00: Afternoon Workshop

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

9:30=11:00: Creative Writing

12:00-1:30: Literature

1:30-3:00: Comp/Rhet

3:00-4:00: Afternoon Workshop

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

9:30=11:00: Creative Writing

12:00-1:30: Literature

1:30-3:00: Comp/Rhet

3:00-4:00: Afternoon Workshop

 

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

9:30=11:00: Creative Writing

12:00-1:30: Literature

1:30-3:00: Comp/Rhet

3:00-4:00: Afternoon Workshop

 

Week 2

Mon. June 11

Tues. June 12

Wed. June 13

Thurs. June 14

Fri. June 15

 

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

Week 3

Mon. June 17

Tues. June 18

Wed. June 19

Thurs. June 20

Fri., June 21

 

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Tour of the Disciplines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Finish Tour of the Disciplines

Begin Special Topics

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Finish Tour of the Disciplines

Begin Special Topics

Week 4

Mon. June 25

Tues. June 26

Wed. June 27

Thurs. June 28

Fri, June 29

 

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Special Topics

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Special Topics

Visit college class

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Special Topics

Begin intensive work with Magazines

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Form Editorial Boards

Begin Independent Projects: Research

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Define Magazine Themes

Independent Projects: Research

Week 5

Mon. July 2

Tues. July 3

Wed. July 4

Thurs. July 5

Fri. July 6

 

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Call for Submissions

Independent Projects: Research

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Prep for Take-Home Work

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Home for Holiday

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Home for Holiday

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Home for Holiday

Week 6

Mon, July 9

Tues. July 10

Wed. July 11

Thurs. July 12

Fri. July 13

 

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Read Submissions

Independent Projects: Drafting

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Read Submissions

Independent Projects: Drafting

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Read Submissions

Independent Projects: Drafting

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Return Submissions for Revision

Independent Projects: Drafting

IACC 116
or Morrill 103

Magazines: Revise Submissions

Independent Projects: Critiques and Conferences

Week 6

Mon. July 16

Tues.July 17

Wed. July 18

Thurs. July 19

Fri. July 20

 

IACC 116

Magazines: Revise Submissions and Work on Design

Independent Projects Critiques and Conferences

 

IACC 116

Magazines: Work on Design

Independent Projects: Final Polishing

Begin Work on Portfolios

IACC 116

Magazines: Final Revisions

Finish Independent Projects

Portfolios

IACC 116

Post Magazines Online

Intensive work on Portfolios and Display

IACC 116

Intensive work on Portfolios and Display

Evening Displays and Fine Arts Show

Sat. July 21   Closing Ceremony!