NDWRRI Affiliate Faculty

G. Padmanabhan, Ph.D.
Director, NDWRRI
Professor of Civil Engineering, NDSU
Research Interests: Hydrology, Water Resources, Hydraulic Engineering
G.Padmanabhan@ndsu.edu

Adnan Akyuz , Ph.D.
Assistant professor, Soil Science Department
ND State Climatologist and NDAWN Director
Director, North Dakota Agricultural Weather Network
adnan.akyuz@ndsu.edu

Alan C. Ashworth, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Geology, NDSU
Research Interests: Quaternary Paleoecology, Paleoclimatology
Allan.Ashworth@ndsu.edu

Achintya Bezbaruah, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, NDSU
Research Interests: Environmental sensors, Small community treatment, Micropollutants

Malcolm G. Butler, Ph.D.
Professor of Biological Sciences, NDSU
Research Interests: Aquatic Invertebrate Biology, Limnology, and Wetland Ecology
Malcolm.Butler@ndsu.edu

Frank Casey, Ph.D.
Director of the School of Natural Resources and Professor of Soil Physics, NDSU
Research Interests: Transport of Bioactive Chemicals in Soil-Water Systems, Soil Water Flow Measurement
Francis.Casey@ndsu.edu

Xuefeng Chu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Civil Engineering, NDSU
xuefeng.chu@ndsu.edu

Mark Clark, Ph.D
Associate Professor of Department of Biological Sciences, NDSU
m.e.clark@ndsu.edu

Edward Dekeyser, Ph.D
Associate Professor of School of Natural Resource Sciences and NRM Program Leader
Research Interests: Rangeland Ecology, Grazing Management, Wetland Ecology and Assessment
edward.dekeyser@ndsu.edu

Thomas DeSutter. Ph.D
Associate Professor of Department of Soil Science, NDSU
Thomas.DeSutter@ndsu.edu

Phil Gerla, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Geology and Geological Engineering, UND
Phil.Gerla@mail.und.nodak.edu

Robert R. Hearne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Agribusiness and Applied Economics, NDSU
Research Interest: Economic Analysis of Emerging Environmental and Resource Issues in the Northern Great Plains
rhearne@ndsuext.nodak.edu

David G. Hopkins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of AES School of Hat Res Sciences, NDSU
David.Hopkins@ndsu.edu

Xinhua Jia, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Agriculture and Biosystems Department, NDSU
Xinhua.Jia@ndsu.edu

Eakalak Khan, Ph.D.
Professor of Civil Engineering and Construction and Environmental & Conservation Science Program Director, NDSU
Research Interest: Water Quality, Biological Process Development for Water and Wastewater Treatment, Stormwater and Non-Point Source Pollution Control
Eakalak.Khan@ndsu.edu

Scott Korom, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, UND
Research Interests: Aquifer Denitrification,Groundwater Remediation and Engineering and Wetlands
Scott.Korom@und.nodak.edu

Howe Lim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Civil Engineering Department, UND
Research Interests: Water Resources and Hydraulic Engineering
Yeo.Lim@und.nodak.edu

Wei Lin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Civil Engineering, NDSU
Research Interests: Water and wastewater treatment, hazardous waste management
Wei.Lin@ndsu.edu

Zhulu Lin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, NDSU
zhulu.lin@ndsu.edu

John McEvoy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences, NDSU
Research Interests: Cryptosporidium virulence factors and mechanisms of pathogenesis
john.mcevoy@ndsu.edu

Jack Norland, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Natural Resources Management Interdiscliplinary Program
Research interests: Restoration Ecology, Remote Sensing of Grasslands, Grassland Ecology, Managing Natural Resources for Resiliency
jack.norland@ndsu.edu

Peter Oduor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Geosciences Department, NDSU
Research Interest: Geographic Information Systems, Groundwater Flow Modeling, Groundwater Contamination
Peter.Oduor@ndsu.edu

Marinus Otte, Ph.D.
Professor of Biological Sciences, NDSU
Marinus.Otte@ndsu.edu

Shafiqur Rahman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Ag & Biosystems Engineering, NDSU
Research Interests: Animal waste management, Bio-solids management, Water quality Composting
s.rahman@ndsu.edu

Wendy L. Reed, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biologoical Science, NDSU
Research Interests: Physiological Ecology, Wetland and Bird Ecology, Environmental Edocrinology
Wendy.Reed@ndsu.edu

Kelly Rusch, Ph.D
VP for Research & Creative Activity
kelly.rusch@ndsu.edu

Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat, Ph.D.
Chair, Dept of Geosciences and Associate Professor, NDSU
Research Interests: Environmental Geochemistry, Igneous Petrology, Economic Geology, Pedagogical Methods
Bernhardt.Saini-Eidukat@ndsu.edu

David M. Saxowsky, J. D.
Associate professor, Agribusiness and Applied Economics, NDSU
Research Interests: Agricultural law and agribusiness management
david.saxowsky@ndsu.edu

Thomas Scherer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Extension Agriculture Engineer
Agriculture and Biosystems Department
Thomas.Scherer@ndsu.edu

Saleem Shaik, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of AES Agribusiness & Appld Econ
Research Interests: Agriculture Policy and Risk Management, Agriculture Production Economics
Saleem.Shaik@ndsu.edu

Dean D. Steele, Ph.D
Associate Professor of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering Dept., NDSU
Research Interests: Irrigation and Environmental Engineering
Dean.Steele@ndsu.edu

Craig A. Stockwell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, NDSU
Research Interests: Conservation Biology, Evolutionary Ecology of Native Fishes, Human-Wildlife Interactions
Craig.Stockwell@ndsu.edu

Gregory S Vandeberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Certificate in GIS, UND
gregory.vandeberg@email.und.edu

Joseph D. Zeleznik, Ph.D.
Extension Forester, NDSU - Plant Sciences Department
Joseph.Zeleznik@ndsu.edu

Xiaodong Zhang, Ph. D
Associate Professor, Department of Earth System Science and Policy, UND
zhang@aero.und.edu

Julia Zhao, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry Department, UND
jzhao@chem.und.edu