Faculty and Staff

Dr. Leon Schumacher, Dept Chair

Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering 
North Dakota State University
NDSU Dept. 7620
PO Box 6050
Fargo ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-5173
E-mail: leon.schumacher@ndsu.edu

Faculty

 Dr. Mohammed Raju Ahmed - Postdoctoral Research Associate

 Office: ABEN 207
 Phone: (701) 491-0052
 Email: mohammed.ahmed.1@ndsu.edu

Thomas Bon - Emeritus Associate Professor of Practice

 Office: Morrill 202
 Phone: (701) 231-7275
 Email: thomas.bon@ndsu.edu

 Teaches: ABEN 479/679 - Fluid Power Systems Design
 

 

Dr. Igathinathane Cannayen - Associate Professor

 Office: Northern Great Plains Research Lab, USDA-Ag Research Service, room 208
           1701 10th Ave SW, PO Box 459, Mandan, ND 58554
 Phone: (701) 667-3011
 Email: i.cannayen@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests: Biomass feedstock engineering, machine vision image processing application in agriculture, and agricultural processing and post-harvest engineering
 Advises: ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

 Dr. Clairmont Clementson - Assistant Professor

 Office: ABEN 105
 Phone: (701) 231-1810
 Email: clairmont.clementson@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests: Granular material handling, particle technology, bioprocessing, storage and processing of biological materials
 Advises: ABEN undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

Dr. Paulo Flores - Assistant Professor

 Office: ABEN 119
 Phone: (701) 231-5348
 Email: paulo.flores@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests: Precision agriculture, applications of UASs/Drones in agriculture, UASs/dron imagery analysis, and GIS applications for precision agriculture
 Advises: PAG undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

Dr. Sulaymon Eshkabilov - Assistant Professor

 Office: ABEN 202
 Phone: (701) 231-3268
 Email:  sulaymon.eshkabilov@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests: Machine learning applications in data analysis, MEMS design and development, machine vision and image processing applications, adaptive control applications of dynamic systems.
 Advises: ABEN undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

 Brian Gregor - Temporary Academic Faculty

 Office: ABEN 206
 Email: brian.gregor@ndsu.edu

 Teaches: ABEN 486/487 - Design Project I/II

Dr. Ademola (Demmy) Hammed - Research Assistant Professor

 Office: Pilot Plant 102
 Phone: (701) 231-8610
 Email: ademola.hammed@ndsu.edu

Dr. Kenneth Hellevang - Professor, Extension Engineer

 Office: ABEN 117
 Phone: (701) 231-7243
 Email: kenneth.hellevang@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests:
 Advises: ABEN graduate students

Dr. Xinhua Jia - P.E., Professor

 Office: Morrill 205
 Phone: (701) 231-6453
 Email: xinhua.jia@ndsu.edu
 
 Research Interests: Tile drainage and subirrigation, hydrology, water management for sustainability
 Advises: ABEN, ASM undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

Dr. Cengiz Koparan, Postdoctoral Research Associate

 Office:  ABEN 207
 Phone: (617) 447-8648
 Email: cengiz.koparan@ndsu.edu

Dr. Zhulu Lin - Associate Professor

 Office: ABEN 104
 Phone: (701) 231-7118
 Email: zhulu.lin@ndsu.edu
 
 Research Interests: Managing complex, large-scale agricultural and hydrological systems for sustainable uses of soil of water resources
 Advises: ABEN, ASM undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

Dr. Ewumbua Monono - Assistant Professor

 Office: ABEN 206
 Phone: (701) 231-7277
 Email: ewumbua.monono@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests: Application of engineering to the science of bioprocessing, biofuels, bioproducts, and food safety engineering
 Advises: ABEN, ASM undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

John F. Nowatzki - Professor Emeritus

 Office: ABEN 115
 Phone: (701) 231-8213
 Email: john.nowatzki@ndsu.edu
 Research Interests: Unmanned aircraft systems, smartphone apps, conservation tillage, farm safety

Matthew Olhoft - Senior Lecturer

 Office: ABEN 204
 Phone: (701) 231-7269
 Email: matthew.olhoft@ndsu.edu

 Advises: ASM undergraduate students

 Dr. Scott W. Pryor - Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs

 College of Engineering
 Engineering Admin 201
 Phone: (701) 231-8432
 Email: scott.pryor@ndsu.edu

Dr. Thomas F. Scherer - Associate Professor, Extension

 Office: ABEN 115
 Phone: (701) 231-7239
 Email: thomas.scherer@ndsu.edu
 
 Expertise Areas: Subsurface (tile) drainage design, subsurface drainage water quality, irrigation systems and equipment, irrigation water management, individual onsite wastewater (septic) systems, individual water supplies and treatment, water quality: interpreting test results, basement sump pumps

Dr. Dean D. Steele - P.E., Associate Professor

 Office: ABEN 113
 Phone: (701) 231-7268
 Email: dean.steele@ndsu.edu
 
 Research Interests: Development of water management practices and tools for improved crop production and natural resources management
 Advises: ABEN, ASM undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

Dr. Xin (Rex) Sun - Assistant Professor

 Office: ABEN 205
 Phone: (701) 231-5756
 Email: xin.sun@ndsu.edu

 Research Interests: Precision Agriculture, artificial intelligence in food and agriculture, precision livestock production, meat quality non-destructive detection methods
 Advises: PAG undergraduate students; ABEN, NRM, ECS graduate students

Dr. Yu (Heather) Zhang - Research Assistant Professor

 Office:  Morrill 206
 Phone: (701) 231-5389
 Email: yu.zhang.7@ndsu.edu

 Vacant - Assistant Professor, Structures & Bioenvironment

 Office: ABEN
 Phone: (701)
 Email:

 Research Interests:
 Advises:

   

 

Staff

 Dr. Ademola Ajayi-Banji - Research Specialist

 Office: Waldron 210
 Phone: (701) 231-6674
 Email: ademola.ajayibanji@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities:

Julie Bietz - Student Coordinator

 Office: ABEN 103
 Phone: (701) 231-7273
 Email: julie.bietz@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities: Maintain student files, issue class permits, student liaison, new employee paperwork, timeslip processing

 Chelsie Bormann - Administrative Assistant

 Office: ABEN 100
 Phone: (701) 231-7261
 Email: chelsie.bormann@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities:

Jana Daeuber - Research Specialist

 Office: ABEN 125
 Phone: (701) 231-7264
 Email: jana.daeuber@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities: Maintaining departmental IT and assisting faculty with research

 Susan Finneseth - Grants Coordinator

 Office: Hultz Hall 202A
 Phone: (701) 231-6225
 Email: susan.finneseth@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities: Grant support for School of Natural Resources | Ag & Biosystems Engineering | Microbiological Sciences

 Tayler Johnston - Fabrication Specialist

 Office: ABEN 124
 Phone: (701) 231-7263
 Email: tayler.johnston@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities:

Dr. Dongqing Lin - Research Specialist

 Office: Hultz 235
 Phone: (701) 231-7155
 Email: dongqing.lin@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities:

Dr. Niloy Chandra Sarker - Research Specialist

 Office: Pilot Plant
 Phone: (701) 231-8602
 Email: niloy.sarker@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities: Assist Bioprocessing Group faculty with research

Sheldon Tuscherer - Research Specialist

 
 Office: ABEN 207
 Phone: (701) 231-7429
 Email: sheldon.tuscherer@ndsu.edu
 Responsibilities: Knowledgeable in agricultural engineering, hydrological evapotranspiration modeling, remote sensing utilizing satellite data, GIS applications, soil characteristics modeling, soils and waste management, and watershed management.

 

Top of page