Department of Apparel, Merchandising, Interior Design, and Hospitality Management

Mission statement:

The mission of the Apparel, Merchandising, Interior Design, and Hospitality Management Department at NDSU is to “Advance life quality and economic well-being by addressing personal, societal, and global needs through engagement, leadership, learning, and discovery in the near environment."  

ADHM Visions:

  1. To recruit and retain quality students and faculty.
  2. To provide an academic environment and curriculum for students to develop transferable business, organizational, analytical, and creative-problem solving skills.
  3. To provide students the opportunity to put theory to practice with active and experiential learning through civic engagement, internships, research, and student organization involvement.
  4. To conduct, present, and publish scholarly research and creative activities to enhance life quality and economic well-being.
  5. To cultivate and sustain alumni and industry relations to facilitate internships and successful job placement for students locally, nationally, and internationally.
  6. To infuse diversity and global awareness throughout the curriculum.
  7. To provide students with scholarship opportunities.
  8. To foster academic and career mentoring through a low faculty to student ratio.

History of ADHM

The original program Apparel and Textiles (AT), can be traced back to the NDAC 1892 annual catalog.  The Interior Design (ID) major was first introduced in 1918.  ID joined AT in 1987 and the department was renamed Apparel, Textiles and Interior Design (ATID). The HTM major formerly housed in the disbanded Food and Nutrition Department joined the above majors in July 2001.  The major in Facility Management (FM) was dropped in 2006.  The word “facility” was removed from the department name; the department was renamed Apparel, Design, and Hospitality Management (ADHM) in 2008. Since fall of 2005, the department has offered a Master of Science degree in Merchandising though Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance (GPIDEA). In 2019, the department was renamed Apparel, Merchandising, Interior Design, and Hospitality Management to increase visibility of all programs. 

Dedication for E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall, NDSU Archives, Fargo (ua001001)

Faculty and Staff Directory

Department Head


Kwangsoo Park

Title: Associate Professor and Stegner Endowed Chair
Head of Apparel, Merchandising, Interior Design and Hospitality Management Department
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 178G
Phone: 701-231-7355
E-mail: Kwangsoo.Park@ndsu.edu


ARMD Program Coordinator


Jaeha Lee

Title: Associate Professor/Apparel, Retail Merchandising and Design Program Coordinator
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 178H
Phone: 701-231-8220
E-mail: Jaeha.Lee@ndsu.edu


ARMD Faculty


Ann Braaten

Title: Associate Professor and Curator of the Emily P. Reynolds Costume Collection
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 178D
Phone: 701-231-7367
E-mail: Ann.Braaten@ndsu.edu



Linda Manikowske

Title: Associate Professor
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 308D
Phone: 701-231-7352
E-mail: Linda.Manikowske@ndsu.edu



Sara Sunderlin

Title: Senior Lecturer
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 320
Phone: 701-231-7482
E-mail: Sara.Sunderlin@ndsu.edu 


HTM Program Coordinator


Amelia Estepa Asperin

Title: Associate Professor and Program Coordinator, Hospitality and Tourism Management
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 304
Phone: 701-231-5720
E-mail: Amelia.Asperin@ndsu.edu


HTM Faculty


Juwon Choi

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 302
Phone: 701-231-7358
E-mail: Juwon.Choi@ndsu.edu



Jeongdoo Park

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 308C
Phone: 701-231-8224
E-mail: Jeongdoo.Park@ndsu.edu


ID Program Coordinator


Susan Ray-Degges

Title: Professor/Interior Design Program Coordinator
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 178E
Phone: 701-231-7218
E-mail: susan.raydegges@ndsu.edu


ID Faculty


Kellie Hamre

Title: Senior Lecturer
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 300
Phone: 701-231-7368
E-mail: kellie.hamre@ndsu.edu



Eunice Kapplinger

Title: Associate Professor of Practice, Interior Design
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 308E
Phone: 701-231-8605
E-mail: eunice.kapplinger@ndsu.edu



Ann Marie Ragan

Title:Senior Lecturer
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 328
Phone: 701-231-7359
E-mail: ann.ragan@ndsu.edu


Staff

Susan Curtis
Title: Collections Manager of the Emily P. Reynolds Costume Collection
Office: Room 407 FLC
Phone: 701-231-7362
E-mail: Susan.Curtis@ndsu.edu


April Helgaas
Title: Office Manager
Office: E. Morrow Lebedeff Hall 178
Phone: 701-231-8604
E-mail: April.Helgaas@ndsu.edu

 

Top of page