Page Title

IPM Crop Survey Starts in ND and MN (06/03/21)


For the 2021 Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Crop Survey, six scouts and two insect trappers were hired in North Dakota and three scouts in Minnesota! Field scouts in North Dakota will survey for major diseases and insect pests on wheat, barley, sunflower and soybean. Minnesota scouts will survey mainly wheat and soybean. Two webinar trainings were conducted on May 31st and June 1st to discuss pest identification and scouting protocols for each crop.

The purpose of the survey program is to monitor for economic pests that negatively affect crop yields. Timely pest alerts will be provided for producers, crop consultants and agronomists to assist with pest management. Some of the scouting data also is used to support export of our crop commodities. GPS coordinates are recorded with pest data, and ArcView maps will be created to show incidence and severity of pests in North Dakota. Maps are posted weekly on the NDSU IPM web page (usually by Wednesday of each week).

Important pest activity will also be summarized for the NDSU Extension Crop and Pest Report and other social media.  

Marc Michaelson, former NDSU IPM Scout, checks wheat field for insects and diseases.
Map of North Dakota showing the IPM scouting areas.

The IPM Scouting Areas are:

  • Carrington REC
    • Burleigh County
    • Dickey County
    • Eddy County
    • Emmons County
    • Foster County
    • Kidder County
    • LaMoure County
    • Logan County
    • McIntosh County
    • Stutsman County
    • Wells County
  • Dickinson REC
    • Adams County
    • Billings County
    • Bowman County
    • Dunn County
    • Golden Valley County
    • Grant County
    • Hettinger County
    • Mercer County
    • Morton County
    • Oliver County
    • Sioux County
    • Slope County
    • Stark County
  • Fargo - NDSU
    • Barnes County
    • Cass County
    • Griggs County
    • Ransom County
    • Richland County
    • Sargent County
    • Steele County
    • Traill County
  • Langdon REC
    • Benson County
    • Cavalier County
    • Grand Forks County
    • Nelson County
    • Pembina County
    • Ramsey County
    • Rolette County
    • Towner County
    • Walsh County
  • Minot - North Central REC
    • Bottineau County
    • McHenry County
    • McLean County
    • Pierce County
    • Renville County
    • Sheridan County
    • Ward County
  • Williston REC
    • Burke County
    • Divide County
    • McKenzie County
    • Mountrail County
    • Williams County

The NDSU IPM scouts are:

  • Carrie Nichols, central and south-central counties, working out of Carrington REC with Greg Endres
  • Iris Dukart, southwest and west central counties, working out of Dickinson REC with Ryan Buetow
  • Alexius Holter and Riley Racine, north central counties, working out of NCREC in Minot with Travis Prochaska
  • Scott Roseth, northwest counties, working out of Williston REC with Claire Keene
  • Tommy Crompton, southeast and east central counties, working out of NDSU campus, Fargo with Janet Knodel, Patrick Beauzay, Andrew Friskop and Sam Markell.
  • Nancy Feil and Jolena Lowery, northeast counties, working out of Langdon REC with Anitha Chirumamilla (Cavalier County Extension Office), Scott Knoke (Benson County Extension Office) and Katelyn Landeis (Grand Forks Extension Office).

The IPM scouts working for the University of Minnesota Extension are:

  • Tyler Goplen, Norman, Mahnomen, Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Otter Tail Counties, working out of Moorhead with Anthony Hanson, Regional Educator, IPM / Extension
  • Emily Schmiedeberg, Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk Counties, working out of Crookston with Angie Peltier, Regional Educator, Crops / Extension
  • Kyle Reese, central and southern counties, working out of Morris with Jared Goplen, Regional Educator, Crops / Extension

This work is supported in part by the Crop Protection and Pest Management Program [grant no. 2017-70006-27144] from the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, and the North Dakota Department of Agriculture.