Content | Navigation |

Advisory Board

The College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Advisory Board meets four times a year and provides advice and counsel to the dean on matters related to the college.  Members act as advocates for the college in the community and are not required to be an NDSU alumnus.

The Advisory Board members are Marsha Woodward Johansen, Matthew Langemo, Barry Nelson, Kendra Faiman O'Brien, Martha Olsen, Frannie Schlossman, Morrie Schwinden,  Andrea Weber, and Michael Williams - all Fargo; Howard Peet - Fargo and Peoria, Arizona; Julie Lemm - Hillsboro; Michael Warner - Oxbow; and Julie Burgum - Casselton.

The advisory board has also developed and funded its own teaching award, "The College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Outstanding Educator Award."  This award is given to a candidate who has been nominated by his/her peers and meets the criteria of outstanding excellence in teaching, service, and research.  The following faculty have been named recipients of this award:

1998 - Dr. Thomas Isern, History
1999 - Dr. Thomas Matchie, English 
2000 - Dr. Timothy Sellnow, Communication 
2001 - Dr. Kevin Thompson, Criminal Justice 
2002 - Dr. David Danbom, History 
2003 - Dr. Deanna Sellnow, Communication 
2004 - Dr. William Cosgrove, English 
2005 - Dr. Gary Goreham, Sociology 
2006 - Dr. Mark Harvey, History 
2007 - Dr. Robert S. Littlefield, Communication 
2008 - Dr. Elizabeth Birmingham, English
2009 - Dr. Muriel Brown, English
2010 - Dr. Dale Sullivan, English
2011 - Dr. Thomas Ambrosio, Political Science
2012 - Dr. Dennis Cooley, Philosophy
2013 - Dr. Amy Rupiper Taggart, English
2014 - Dr. Ann Burnett, Communication/Women and Gender Studies
2015 - Dr. Stephenson Beck, Communication
2016 - Dr. Charles Okigbo, Communication

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-8338 - Fax: (701) 231-1047
Campus address: Minard Hall 204
Mailing address: Dept 2300 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND  58108-6050
Site Manager: AHSS Webmaster


Last Updated: Wednesday, August 23, 2017 10:54:10 AM
Privacy Statement