Faculty receive advising, service learning honors

For the original story, please visit: https://www.ndsu.edu/news/view/detail/28998/

Three NDSU faculty have been named to receive university advising and service learning awards.

Dilpreet Bajwa, associate professor of mechanical engineering, was selected for the Outstanding Faculty Adviser Award; Kay Hopkins, academic adviser in the College of Business, was chosen for the Outstanding Professional Adviser Award; and Tim Peterson, professor of management, was honored with the Service Learning Award.

The recipients will be recognized during the annual NDSU Celebration of Faculty Excellence, scheduled for Thursday, May 11, at 3 p.m. in the Memorial Union Plains room. All members of the campus community are invited, and registration is requested.

Bajwa was nominated by 22 students, including Jason Schirck a junior majoring in mechanical engineering, who said Bajwa encouraged and guided him. “Dr. Bajwa is a good listener and very well versed in advising. He knows potential questions, and answers them before they are even asked,” Schirck wrote.

“For me, effective advising is a dynamic relationship between faculty adviser, and students,” said Bajwa, who said his goal is to facilitate student learning while preparing them to be leaders. “The success of the relationship hinges on mutual trust and respect. Effective advising should include inspiring students and teaching the method of inquiry for the specialty, providing regular constructive feedback and criticism to foster professional maturation, teaching the conventions of the field of study, and promoting students careers by providing appropriate opportunities for independent work and recognition.”

Bajwa earned his bachelor’s degree at Punjab Agricultural University, and his master’s degree and doctorate in wood science and technology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research interests include biobased polymer composites, wood composites and recycled materials utilization.

Hopkins received four nominations, including senior management major Danielle Krank, who wrote, “Kay is very professional and organized. She is very open minded and always listens to what I had to say regarding my academic progress.”

Hopkins said she tries to be accessible and responsive to the needs of students. “Advising is an integral component to the success and happiness of an undergraduate student at the university in completing their academic and career goals,” she said. “Though I have been advising now for eight-plus years in a professional advisor capacity, my advising style and philosophy continue to grow and to be shaped by experience. Without a doubt, the one pillar that holds steadfast throughout this formation is that I do this to serve students.

Hopkins earned her bachelor’s degree and Master of Business of Administration from NDSU. She is pursuing her doctorate in occupational and adult education at NDSU.

Peterson was honored for including service learning and volunteerism components to his course activities, including his Leadership in Organizations course. Through their projects, the students learn leadership and communication skills as they address local needs. Among the organizations helped by Peterson’s students are the F-M Community YWCA shelter, Special Olympics of North Dakota and Minnesota, North Dakota Autism Center, Big Brothers and Big Sisters, Legacy Children’s Foundation, Riding on Angel’s Wings Therapeutic Riding Program and Hope Inc.

“He once told me, ‘we must continue to practice and in the practicing, we refine our abilities to lead. It is the process of performance learning. We perform, we reflect, we learn and we perform again. Hopefully, we perform better the second time.’ His words and teachings continue to inspire me and others to reflect on experiential learning for the purpose of improvement of our future selves and others,” wrote nominator Amelia Everson, NDSU admission counselor and a graduate student in educational leadership.

Peterson earned his bachelor’s degree at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, his Master of Business Administration from the University of Texas as San Antonio and his doctorate in business administration from Texas A&M University, College Station.

Other honorees who will be recognized at the Celebration of Faculty Excellence include Emily Wicktor, assistant professor of English, for the Odney Award for Excellence in Teaching; Sanku Mallik, professor of pharmaceutical sciences, for the Waldron Award for Excellence in Research; Angela Hodgson, associate professor of practice in biological sciences, for the Peltier Award for Innovation in Teaching; Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, professor of plant sciences and high-value crops specialist, for the Chamber of Commerce NDSU Distinguished Faculty Service Award; Wendy Reed, professor of biological sciences, for the Mentoring Excellence Award; ; Bruce Maylath, professor of English, for the Faculty Lectureship Award; Michael J. Strand, professor of visual arts, for the Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Lectureship Award; Michael Robinson, professor of psychology, for the Hogoboom Professorship; Chad Ulven, associate professor of mechanical engineering, for the Gehrts Professorship; and Kimberly Vonnahme, professor of animal sciences, for the Engberg Professorship.

Previous articles