Skip to main content

Joel W. Broberg Lectureship

This distinguished lecture series, established in honor of long-time NDSU professor Dr. Joel Broberg, was made possible by contributions from alumni, friends, faculty and businesses. Its purpose is really twofold. It's an opportunity to honor a distinguished colleague and teacher, and a way to bring in eminent scientists to better instill in students and faculty the excitement of science in general and chemistry in particular during this age of rapidly exploding technology.

Dr. Joel Broberg

Throughout his teaching career of 49 years, 34 of which were spent at NDSU, Dr. Broberg earned the respect and friendship of his nearly 25,000 students and many colleagues. In 1971 he received the Blue Key Doctor of Service Award for his outstanding services to the university and the community.

A native of Willmar, Minn., he graduated from Macalester College, St. Paul, in 1928 and received his master's and doctoral degrees from the University of Minnesota. He taught at high schools in Minnesota before accepting an appointment as assistant professor of inorganic chemistry at NDSU in 1947. He served as professor of chemistry and directed the Institute of Education from 1969 to 1975. He also directed 18 National Science Foundation Summer Science Institutes for high school students. Dr. Broberg retired in 1981. He passed away in 1993.

Broberg Lecturers


  • 1986 Robert West
  • 1987 Paul Gassman
  • 1988 F. A. Cotton
  • 1989 Richard N. Zare
  • 1990 Dudley R. Herschbach (1986 Nobel Prize)
  • 1991 Allen J. Bard
  • 1992 R. Stephen Berry
  • 1993 Nicholas J. Turro
  • 1994 Joseph B. Lambert
  • 1995 Henry Taube (1983 Nobel Prize)
  • 1996 Fred Basolo
  • 1997 Bassam Shakhashiri
  • 1998 Barry M. Trost
  • 1998 Janet G. Osteryoung
  • 1999 Daryle H. Busch
  • 2000 Mario J. Molina (1995 Nobel Prize)
  • 2005 Royce W. Murray