Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1970s

  • Neil Dyer, BS ’77 zoology, was named the Veterinarian of the Year by the North Dakota Veterinary Medical Association. He is the institutional attending veterinarian and director of animal resources at NDSU.
  • Kenneth Hellevang, BS ’78, MS ’79 agricultural and biosystems engineering, PhD ’89, engineering, agricultural engineering, was named Professional Engineer of the Year by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
  • Janet (Nieuwsma) Melby, BS ’72 child development and family relations, BA ’72, sociology, MS ’74, child development and family relations, was named the 2018 recipient of the P&S Distinguished Achievement in Administration Award by the College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University. She is an ISU adjunct associate professor and program manager for the Child Welfare Research and Training Project, a collaboration between the Iowa Department of Human Services and ISU.
  • Daniel Spiegelberg, BS ’72 civil engineering, was awarded the Office of the Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Civilian Service during ceremonies at the Missile Defense Agency, Huntsville, Alabama. He was cited for his accomplishments in environmental support to missile defense system flight testing and deployment. He retired from the Missile Defense Agency in 2017 after eight years as an environmental project manager. He previously retired from two engineering companies and from active duty in the U.S. Navy Civil Engineer Corps. He lives in Madison, Alabama.
  • Curtis Jones, BS’79 physical education, MEd ’85, education management, was inducted into the North Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association Hall of Fame. He was the West Fargo High School activities director from 1989 to 2015. He is a former Bison football player.
  • Roger J. Minch, BA ’74 English, was named a fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy. He has been an attorney at Serkland Law Firm since 1978. Criteria for selection as a fellow of the college include: the highest standard of professionalism, ethics, character, integrity, professional expertise and leadership contributing to the enhancement of bankruptcy and insolvency law and practice; sustained scholarship, teaching, lecturing or writing on bankruptcy or insolvency; and commitment to elevate knowledge and understanding of the profession. He lives in Fargo.
  • Brenda Rogerson, BS ’79 fashion merchandising, has joined the Travel Travel Group of Fargo-Moorhead-Detroit Lakes as a group and leisure travel specialist. She has been in the travel business more than 30 years.
  • Dennis W. Johnson, BS ’71 electrical and electronic engineering, MS ’74, industrial engineering, was elected vice chair of MDU Resources Group Inc., Bismarck, North Dakota. He has been an independent director of MDU Resources since 2001 and chairs the Audit Committee. He lives in Dickinson, North Dakota.
  • Monica Douglas, BS ’78 food and nutrition, retired after a 40-year career with the senior nutrition program at Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota. She retired as the program’s senior director, overseeing nearly 170 sites in the northwest, central, south and southwest parts of the state.
  • Brent Edison, BS ’78 business administration, became a shareholder in the Vogel Law Firm, which has offices in Fargo, Bismarck and Grand Forks, North Dakota, and Moorhead and Minneapolis, Minnesota. He has tried jury cases to verdict in North Dakota, Minnesota and U.S. District Court and has argued more than 60 appeals before the North Dakota Supreme Court.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Thursday, March 22, 2018 10:40:27 AM
Privacy Statement