Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1960s

  • Linda Butts, BA ’69 mathematics, has joined the North Dakota Economic Development Foundation board. She previously was the director of economic development and finance at the North Dakota Department of Commerce. She was appointed by former President George W. Bush to serve on the Strengthening America’s Communities Initiative and served as the head of Driver and Vehicle Services of the North Dakota Department of Transportation.
  • Jerry Effertz, BS ’64, MS ’70 industrial engineering, received the North Dakota Stockmen's Association's highest honor, the Top Hand Award. He is a third-generation producer whose operation is near Velva, North Dakota.
  • Brian Kroshus, BS ’69 animal and range sciences, was appointed to the North Dakota Public Service Commission by Gov. Doug Burgum. Kroshus is group publisher for Mandan-based Lee Agri-Media, the nation’s largest network of agricultural newspapers across a 15-state region. He was publisher of the Bismarck Tribune from 2005 to 2015.
  • Alan Bergman, BS ’64 agricultural mechanization, was inducted into the North Dakota Agricultural Hall of Fame during the North Dakota Winter Show in Valley City, North Dakota. He is a third- generation farmer near Jud, North Dakota, and former president of the North Dakota Farmers Union
  • William C. Hohn, BS ’63 electrical and electronic engineering, published his first book, “a compendium of common uncommon words.” It is available for purchase at
  • Steven Halverson, BS ’69 economics, MS ’71, social science, was elected District 4 director at the Sons of Norway 2016 International Convention in Tacoma, Washington. District 4 includes Montana and North Dakota and the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta. He is the founder and president of Heartland Trust Co. in Fargo.
  • Alf Clausen, BA ’63 music, honorary doctorate ’99, was selected to receive a 2016 Golden Score Award from the American Society of Music Arrangers and Composers during a gala event Nov. 6 in Los Angeles. Clausen has received two Emmy Awards and has been nominated for Emmy honors 30 times for his creative work for such TV shows as “The Simpsons,” “Moonlighting,” “ALF” and “Fame.”
  • Marv Bachmeier, BS ’61 physical education, MEd ’68, economics, will be honored with the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Noel Olson Volunteer of the Year Award on July 12. Since retiring at the University of Minnesota Crookston in 1999, he has volunteered at football and basketball games and various other events. He also has worked with the UMC Teambackers, a program he helped establish that raises funds for athletic scholarships. He and his wife, Diane, spearheaded the UMC Teambacker Golf Classic, a fundraising staple for more than 25 years.
  • David Bruns, BS '65 civil engineering, was named a partner at Heyer Engineering, Fargo. He has more than 30 years of engineering experience.
  • Ronald Zimprich, BS '69 animal science, was named Agriculturalist of the Year during the 90th Little International at NDSU. He is the manager of the university's Swine Research Unit.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Monday, August 17, 2020 11:16:58 AM
Privacy Statement