Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1970s

  • David Buchanan, BS ’75 animal science, received the Blue Key National Honor Society’s Distinguished Educator Award. He is the associate dean for academic programs in NDSU’s College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources.
  • Michael Bentson, BA ’72 economics, was selected for induction into the Fargo American Legion Hall of Fame. He played for the Post 2 baseball team from 1965 to 1966.
  • Kendall Nichols, BS ’79, MEd ’93 agricultural education, received the Friend of Extension award presented by Epsilon Sigma Phi, the Extension service honorary organization. He is director of research for the North Dakota Soybean Council.
  • Rick Engebretson, BArch ’72 architecture, was elected regional director at the National Council of Architectural Registration Board’s 99th annual business meeting. He was nominated to serve on the NCARB Board of Directors by the Central States Conference (Region 5), comprised of Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wyoming. He is the president and CEO of the RLE Group, which he founded in 1992.
  • Nancy Jordheim, BS ’71 English education and speech, was inducted into the West Fargo High School Hall of Fame. She has been a teacher, counselor and principal at various high schools, and retired as the assistant superintendent for human resources.
  • Neil Dyer, BS ’77 zoology, was named the Veterinarian of the Year by the North Dakota Veterinary Medical Association. He is the institutional attending veterinarian and director of animal resources at NDSU.
  • Kenneth Hellevang, BS ’78, MS ’79 agricultural and biosystems engineering, PhD ’89, engineering, agricultural engineering, was named Professional Engineer of the Year by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
  • Janet (Nieuwsma) Melby, BS ’72 child development and family relations, BA ’72, sociology, MS ’74, child development and family relations, was named the 2018 recipient of the P&S Distinguished Achievement in Administration Award by the College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University. She is an ISU adjunct associate professor and program manager for the Child Welfare Research and Training Project, a collaboration between the Iowa Department of Human Services and ISU.
  • Daniel Spiegelberg, BS ’72 civil engineering, was awarded the Office of the Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Civilian Service during ceremonies at the Missile Defense Agency, Huntsville, Alabama. He was cited for his accomplishments in environmental support to missile defense system flight testing and deployment. He retired from the Missile Defense Agency in 2017 after eight years as an environmental project manager. He previously retired from two engineering companies and from active duty in the U.S. Navy Civil Engineer Corps. He lives in Madison, Alabama.
  • Curtis Jones, BS’79 physical education, MEd ’85, education management, was inducted into the North Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association Hall of Fame. He was the West Fargo High School activities director from 1989 to 2015. He is a former Bison football player.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Monday, August 05, 2019 2:34:02 PM
Privacy Statement