Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1980s

  • Russell Peterson, BS '85, architectural studies, BArch '86, architecture, heads Clever Architecture in St. Paul, Minnesota. Several of the firm's projects were recently featured in Licensed Architect magazine. October 2015
  • Robert J Becklund, BS '83, electrical and electronic engineering, was inducted into the West Fargo High School Hall of Fame. He is the former commander of the North Dakota Air National Guard's 119th Fighter Wing, known as the Happy Hooligans. He is chief of staff for the Air National Guard in Bismarck, North Dakota. October 2015
  • Robert Joerger, BS '88, agricultural education, joined American Crystal Sugar Co. as an agriculturist in the East Grand Forks, Minnesota, district. He previously worked for AgriCity Crops and Nutrition as a business representative. October 2015
  • Jeffrey Slaby, BS '84, zoology, MBA '04, business administration, joined Moore Engineering as chief financial officer. He previously was with CoreLink Administrative Solutions, Border States Electric and Cargill's North American Financial Service Center in Fargo. October 2015
  • Karen (Orth) O'Leary, AD '83, nursing, is a writer and editor in West Fargo, North Dakota. She has published poetry, short stories and articles in a variety of venues including Frogpond, A Hundred Gourds, Haiku Pix, Sharpening the Green Pencil 2014, Now This: Contemporary Poems of Beginnings, Renewals and Firsts, Creative Inspirations and Poems of the World. She also edits an online poetry journal called Whispers at October 2015
  • Merrie Sue Holtan, MA ‘89, speech communication, was named director of Minnesota State University Moorhead’s Marcil Center for Innovative Journalism. She has worked in public relations and communications for 30 years, including 20 years of teaching at the college level. September 2015
  • Dan Smith, BS ‘87, electrical and electrical engineering, was inducted into Fargo South High School’s Hall of Fame. He is regarded as a key member Red Canyon Software team that designed and verified large programmable chips for the Orion Multipurpose Crew Vehicle spacecraft. September 2015
  • Robert Becklund, BS ’83, electrical and electrical engineering, was inducted into West Fargo High School’s Hall of Fame. He is the chief of staff for the North Dakota Air National Guard. He served as commander of the NDANG 119th Fighter Wing in Fargo from 2004-09 and at the Pentagon with the U.S. Air Force Unmanned Aircraft Systems Task Force from 2009-12. September 2015
  • Ralph Manley, BS ‘82, physical education, was inducted into Fargo South High School’s Hall of Fame. As head swimming and diving coach in Mandan, North Dakota, he has won four state girls and three state boys championships.  September 2015
  • Ronald Huettl, BS ’83, mechanical engineering, accepted a position as a mechanical engineer at the Air National Guard Civil Engineering Technical Services Center in Minot, North Dakota. He previously worked as a mechanical engineer at Boeing Aerospace Seattle and at Minot Air Force Base, North Dakota.   September 2015

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Wednesday, February 03, 2016 1:40:10 PM