Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1980s

  • Laurie (Olson) Schwartzwald, BS '89, pharmacy, was named the 2015 National Preceptor of the Year by the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation. She is co-founder of GuidePoint Pharmacies in Minnesota and serves as vice president of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy. November 2015
  • Mark Oberlander, BS '81, agricultural economics, was promoted to senior agricultural banker at Dacotah Bank, Valley City, North Dakota. He has been with the bank for 16 years. November 2015
  • John Oxton, BS '84, physical education, was inducted into the Fargo North High School Hall of Fame. He has been a teacher and coach for 31 years, first in Montana and then in Lakeville, Minnesota. One of his teams won the 1989 Class C State Championship in Montana. At Lakeville, his team won the Minnesota State Class AAAA Championship, earning him state Coach of the Year honors. October 2015
  • Daniel P. Smith, BS '87, electrical and electronic engineering, was inducted into the Fargo South High School Hall of Fame. He is considered a key member of a team from Red Canyon Software that designed and verified large programmable chips for the Orion Multipurpose Crew Vehicle spacecraft. October 2015
  • Ralph Manley, BS '82, physical education, was inducted into the Fargo South High School Hall of Fame. He was the swimming and diving coach at Mandan, North Dakota, High School, where he won four state girls and three state boys championships. October 2015
  • Russell Peterson, BS '85, architectural studies, BArch '86, architecture, heads Clever Architecture in St. Paul, Minnesota. Several of the firm's projects were recently featured in Licensed Architect magazine. October 2015
  • Robert J Becklund, BS '83, electrical and electronic engineering, was inducted into the West Fargo High School Hall of Fame. He is the former commander of the North Dakota Air National Guard's 119th Fighter Wing, known as the Happy Hooligans. He is chief of staff for the Air National Guard in Bismarck, North Dakota. October 2015
  • Robert Joerger, BS '88, agricultural education, joined American Crystal Sugar Co. as an agriculturist in the East Grand Forks, Minnesota, district. He previously worked for AgriCity Crops and Nutrition as a business representative. October 2015
  • Jeffrey Slaby, BS '84, zoology, MBA '04, business administration, joined Moore Engineering as chief financial officer. He previously was with CoreLink Administrative Solutions, Border States Electric and Cargill's North American Financial Service Center in Fargo. October 2015
  • Karen (Orth) O'Leary, AD '83, nursing, is a writer and editor in West Fargo, North Dakota. She has published poetry, short stories and articles in a variety of venues including Frogpond, A Hundred Gourds, Haiku Pix, Sharpening the Green Pencil 2014, Now This: Contemporary Poems of Beginnings, Renewals and Firsts, Creative Inspirations and Poems of the World. She also edits an online poetry journal called Whispers at October 2015

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Thursday, August 18, 2016 12:10:37 PM