Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1980s

  • Deann (Jacobson) O’Lenick, BS ’87 communication disorders, earned her doctorate From Texas Woman’s University in early child education and development. Her dissertation was “Clinical Expertise Component of Evidence-Based Practice Self-Defined by Speech-Language Pathologist Who Work with Elementary Students in Public Schools.” She will focus on the development of augmentative communication on a consultative and trial basis. She owns O’Lenick Consulting LLC, Fort Worth, Texas.
  • Jane Strommen, BS ’85 business administration, PhD ’13, human development, joined the South Dakota State University Extension Service as a gerontology specialist. She will divide time with her gerontology specialist duties at NDSU.
  • Grant Levi, BS ’83 civil engineering, retired as director of the North Dakota Department of Transportation. He began his career with the department in 1980.
  • Christopher Olsen, BA ’88 history, was named dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Indiana State University. He has been on the faculty of the university since 1999, and chaired the history department from 2002 to 2016.
  • Idette Graham, BS ’83 fashion merchandising, business management, was named the Fargo Public School District 2017 Support Staff of the Year. She is the teaching and learning secretary at the district office.
  • Mary Corwin Herring, BS ’80 physical education, MS ’89, secondary education, was honored for Scholarly Advancement of Teacher Education in the Field of Educational Technology by the Teacher Education Division of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology. She lived in Waterloo, Iowa.
  • Carolyn Holtgrewe, BS ’87 business administration was promoted to financial services officer for First Community Credit Union of Fargo.
  • Terry A. Messmer, MS ’85 natural resources management and community and regional planning, PhD ’90, animal and range sciences, is a professor and Extension wildlife specialist in the Department of Wildland Resources, Utah State University, Logan. He is director of the Jack H. Berryman Institute for Wildlife Damage Management, Utah Community-Based Conservation Program. He holds the Quinney Professorship of Wildlife Conflict Management in the Quinney College of Natural Resources. He recently retired as a colonel in the U.S. Army Reserve, where he served as commander of multiple units during combat deployments. His military awards include the Military Order of Medical Merit, three Meritorious Service Medals and the Bronze Star.
  • Julie Krantz, BS ’88 accounting, joined Cornerstone Bank as an assistant controller in Fargo.
  • Barbara (Gerads) Oemcke, BS ’81 food and nutrition, was named director of the Northern Arizona Veteran Affairs Health Care System that provides services to more than 26,000 veterans. A 30-year health care administration leader, she most recently served as associate director and interim medical director of the VA Southern Oregon Rehabilitation Center and Clinics in White City, Oregon.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Tuesday, May 02, 2017 11:05:09 AM
Privacy Statement