Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1970s

  • Stephen Metzger, BS ’73, MS ’78 agricultural education, was honored with a North Dakota Water Wheel award by the North Dakota Water Users Association and North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association. He was recognized for his leadership in developing the state’s water resources during the 54th annual Joint North Dakota Water Convention and Irrigation Expo in Bismarck, North Dakota. He was first appointed and later elected to the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District board of directors, and serves on the Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee. Metzger also represents the city of Carrington as an alternate member on the Lake Agassiz Water Authority board of directors.
  • Thomas Newgard, BUS ’75 university studies, has written “Patterns on the Prairie: A History of Worship in North Dakota,” a reference book including past and present locations of all houses of worship in the state. The book, published by J & M Printing Inc., costs $35 and can be ordered by calling 1-218-236-8056 or by sending an email to
  • Greg Kalinoski, BS ’73 agriculture, retired as a farm business management instructor from Northland Community and Technical College, Thief River Falls, Minnesota.
  • Bob Hyland, BS ’70 physical education, coached his St. Mary’s Springs Academy high school football team to its 15th state championship in November. It was the 452nd victory of his long coaching career. He lives in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.
  • Keith Deutsch, BS ’79 agricultural mechanization, received a 2017 Amber Award from the United States Durum Growers Association. He is a durum producer from Plaza, North Dakota. His farm is a no-till operation raising durum, barley, flax, oats, mustard, sunflowers, canola, winter wheat, soybeans, crambe and lentils.
  • Jonelle Burdick, AD ’79 nursing, was hired as director of clinical excellence at Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota. She directs the activities of utilization management, care coordination, care management, behavioral health and the development of medical policy within the Health Innovation division.
  • Donald Schaible, AD ’79 agricultural mechanization, was named to the Innovative Education Task Force by North Dakota Gov. Doug Burgum. He chairs the Senate Education Committee and is from Mott, North Dakota.
  • Duane Lillehaug, BS, ’71 social science, was acknowledged by the Great Plains Super Lawyers list for 2017 in the area of plaintiff’s personal injury work. He is an attorney with the Maring Williams Law Office. 
  • David Maring, BS ’71 sociology/criminal justice, business administration, was recognized by the Great Plains Super Lawyers list for 2017 in the area of plaintiff’s personal injury work. He is an attorney with the Maring Williams Law Office. 
  • James Deutsch, BS ’72 speech, MS ’79, arts, humanities and social sciences, was inducted into the Shanley High School Hall of Fame. He works in sales in the Fargo market and has earned local and national awards.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Thursday, March 22, 2018 10:40:27 AM
Privacy Statement