Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1970s

  • Mark Shaul, BArch ’76 architecture, is set to retire in June from JLG Architects, Fargo. Some of his notable projects include The Village Family Service Center, West Acres renovation and food court, NDSU Memorial Union, Concordia College Offutt School of Business and the Wellness Center at the University of Minnesota-Crookston.
  • Paul Richard, AD ’74 nursing, BS ’74, economics, will retire as Sanford’s top executive in Fargo when the new medical center opens in July. He has been associated with Sanford Health for 46 years.
  • Phillip Stahlman, MS ’73 agronomy, retired after a 42-year career at Kansas State University. His research focused on weed management in winter wheat, corn, grain sorghum, soybeans and sunflowers. He wrote or co-wrote more than 100 referred journal articles, proceedings and book chapters, more than 500 scientific abstracts and citable research reports, several popular press articles and is a co-recipient of a U.S. patent.
  • Gary Pedersen, BS ’72, MS ’73 economics, was named vice president/secretary-treasurer of Dacotah Paper Co., Fargo. He has been with the company since 1978.
  • Cheryl Rising, AD ’77 nursing, will be honored at the American Association of Nurse Practitioners 2017 national conference June 20-25 in Philadelphia for earning the AANP 2017 State Award for Excellence. She is a family nurse practitioner in Bismarck, North Dakota.
  • Terry Stallman, BS ’71 agricultural economics, was named interim president of the West Central Initiative.
  • Terrence C. Dahl, BS ’77 pharmacy, was named senior vice president of commercial manufacturing operations at Gilead Sciences Inc., a biopharmaceutical company in Foster City, California. He lives in Sunnyvale, California.
  • Gov. Douglas Burgum, BUS ’78 university studies, honorary doctorate ’00, was named the Fargo Area Person of the Year by the Forum of Fargo-Moorhead. He recently became North Dakota’s 33rd governor.
  • Jerry Doan, BS ’75 animal science, received the inaugural Leopold Conservation Award for his Black Leg Ranch near McKenzie, North Dakota. He and his wife, Renae, have worked to incorporate conservation efforts into their 17,000-acre farm and ranch, including using no-till technologies.
  • Steven Swiontek, BS ’78 business administration, honorary doctorate ’06, was named a member of the Community Bank Advisory Council in Washington, D.C. He is chair, president and CEO of Gate City Bank in Fargo.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Monday, December 04, 2017 10:28:23 AM
Privacy Statement