Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1960s

  • David Emslie, BS '63 agricultural economics, is a competitive weightlifter, and has established 82 records in the United States All-Round Weightlifting Association. He earned four Show-Me Games medals and set the dead lift record in the 80-kilo class in the 70-74 age group. He and his wife, Dorothy, recently moved to San Antonio, Texas.
  • Curtis W. Glasoe, BS '69 agricultural engineering, was named "Surveyor of the Year" by the North Dakota Society of Professional Land Surveyors. He retired from the USDA-Forest Service in August, where he was the Dakota Prairie Grasslands Engineer in charge of engineering services for the four National Grasslands covering 1.2 million acres in North Dakota and South Dakota.
  • Mary Louise Amundson, BS ’69 sociology, received the Fred Moskol Leadership Award at the National Rural Recruitment and Retention Network (3RNet) annual meeting in Denver. The national organization works to improve rural and underserved communities' access to quality health care through recruitment of health care professionals and national advocacy. She was a founding member of the organization and served two terms on its board of directors. She is an assistant professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences,
  • Collette Folstad, BS ’62 physical education, was inducted into the West Fargo High School Hall of Fame. She taught coached West Fargo varsity girls basketball for 15 years. Her teams won two state championships, two state runner-up finishes, two regional titles and four conference titles. She was the first woman coach inducted into the North Dakota High School Coaches Hall of Fame and is also a member of the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame.
  • Jay Edwin Buringrud, BS ’69 economics, retired as director of legal services for the North Dakota Legislative Council, after 42 years of service that included positions as counsel, code reviser and assistant director of the professional staff of the North Dakota Legislative Assembly. He and his wife, Linda, live in Bismarck, North Dakota. 
  • Gary L. Krapu, BS ’66 zoology, received the L.H. Walkinshaw Crane Conservation Award from the North American Crane Working Group. The award was presented in recognition of his commitment to better understand the needs of sandhill cranes during spring staging in the Platte River ecosystem. He is an emeritus researcher at the USGS Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center, after retiring from public service in 2011.
  • Al Gustin, BS ’69 agricultural economics, was inducted into the North Dakota Agricultural Hall of Fame during ceremonies at the N.D. Winter Show in Valley City, N.D. He retired in 2012 after a 45-year career in farm broadcasting.
  • Larry Ellingson, BS ’69 pharmacy, received the American Diabetes Association’s prestigious Wendell Mayes Jr. Medal for Lifetime Service. The honor, which recognizes outstanding lifetime achievement in the cause of diabetes, was presented at the organization’s Community Volunteer Leadership Conference in Nashville, Tenn. Ellingson is a former association board chair, and served on numerous national and international task forces and committees. He lives in Fountain Hills, Ariz.
  • Al Gustin, BS ’69 agricultural economics, published a book, “Al Gustin’s Farm Byline – Reflections on North Dakota Agriculture 1974 to 2013.” Gustin, who retired from full-time farm broadcasting in December 2012 after a 45-year career, was named Farm Broadcaster of the Year by the National Association of Farm Broadcasting and received the National Farmers Union Milt Hakel Award for Agricultural Communications.
  • Elliott Haugen, BS ’69 mathematics, German, retired as senior vice president at Kuludis Consulting, a leading higher education consulting firm, where he led the company’s information management and technology practice. He previously worked at NDSU and St. Louis University. He and his wife, Vicki, live in Falls Church, Va. 

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Thursday, March 22, 2018 10:40:27 AM
Privacy Statement