Summer Scholars

Summer Scholars


Our Summer Scholars program began in 2001, the first year of the communication doctoral program. This program seeks to bring together leading scholars in the field of communication with the graduate students in our program. 

The NDSU faculty realized that because we are small in number, we could benefit from an infusion of colleagues from other areas of the field.  Our students benefit by learning and being mentored by additional professors, enabling them to build larger professional networks.  

Summer Scholars learn first-hand of the dynamic and innovative program that is offered at NDSU and of the high caliber of our graduate students.  Summer Scholars have served on graduate committees after leaving Fargo, they have served as references for NDSU students, they have co-authored research with NDSU doctoral students, and they have published manuscripts of the doctoral students in journals they edit.  The program has seen positive benefits for the Summer Scholars, for the NDSU communication students, and for the NDSU communication faculty members.

Current Summer Scholar

2019: Jennifer Gibbs - Collaborative Technologies in Organizations

Past Summer Scholars

2018: Nicholas Bowman- Interactivity in Communication Technology

2017: Keri Stephens - Organizational Communication and Technology

2016: S. Shyam Sundar - Human-Computer Interaction

2015: Karen Myers - Organizational Socialization

2014: Ananda Mitra - Communication Technology and Culture

2013: Paul Schrodt - Dark Side of Interpersonal Communication
          James Barker - Organizational Behavior, Ethics, and Strategy

2012: Tamara Afifi - Interpersonal Communication

2011: Michelle Shumate - Dynamics of Interorganizational Networks

2010: David Zarefsky - Presidential Rhetoric, Argumentation

2009: Jan Servaes - Development and Social Change
          Dale Brashers - Health Communication

2008: Patrice Buzzanell - Organizational Communication: Career, Leadership, Gender, and Resilience
          Timothy Mottet - Interpersonal Communication

2007:  Mohan Dutta - Social Change
           James & Larissa Grunig - Public Relations Theory

2006:  Dennis Mumby - Organizational Communication
           Sandra Petronio - Communication Privacy Management

2005:  Barry Brummett - Rhetoric, Popular Culture
           Michael Bugeja - Technology and Media Ethics

2004:  James Chesebro - Rhetorical Criticism
           Diana Carlin - Political Rhetoric

2003:  Mike Allen - Meta-analysis
           Bernell Tripp - Mass Media Historian

2002:  David Buller - Interpersonal Deception
           Arvind Singhal - Communication and Social Change

Top of page