Content | Navigation |

Faculty

Anne Denton, Ph.D.
University of Mainz, 1996
QBB 258 A28
(701) 231-6748
anne.denton@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Data Mining; Bioinformatics; Scientific Informatics; Databases; Geospatial Data; Cloud Computing

 

Dean Knudson, Ph.D.
Northwestern University, 1972
QBB 258 A21
(701) 231-5612
Dean.Knudson@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Software Engineering; International Capstone Programs; University/Industry Relationships

 

Jun Kong, Ph.D.
Graduate Coordinator of Computer Science
University of Texas, Dallas, 2005
QBB 258 A14
(701) 231-8179
Jun.Kong@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Human Computer Interaction; Mobile Computing; Software Engineering

Lu Liu, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio, 2017
QBB 258 A13
(701) 231-5856
lu.liu.2@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, Data Mining, Machine Learning, & Data Science

 

Jen Li, Ph.D.
University of British Columbia, 2008
QBB 258 A12
(701) 231-9662
j.li@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Large-scale Distributed System (P2P and Cloud Computing, Distributed Search, Routing Algorithms); Semantic Web Technologies; Social Networks; Information Retrieval; Knowledge Discovery

 

Simone Ludwig, Ph.D.
Brunel University, 2004
QBB 258 A17
(701) 231-8197
Simone.Ludwig@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Swarm Intelligence; Evolutionary Computation; Fuzzy Reasoning; Cloud Computing

 

Kenneth Magel, Ph.D.
Associate Chair
Brown University, 1977
QBB 258 A24
(701) 231-8189
Kenneth.Magel@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Software Engineering; Human-Computer Interfaces; Software Complexity; Software Design

M. Zubair Malik, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Austin, 2014
QBB 258 B8
(701) 231-7248
zubair.malik@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Program Analysis, Automated Program Repair, Secure Software Development, Software Verification-Validation and Testing, Software Systems (especially large scale Distributed Systems for Datascience and Machine Learning), Formal Methods, Application of Artificial Intelligence in Program Analysis

 

Kendall Nygard, Ph.D., 
Department Chair
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1978 
QBB 258 A22
(701) 231-8203
kendall.nygard@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Data Science; Optimization Modeling; Smart Grid; Sensor Networks; Agents; Artificial Intelligence; Security; Adaptive Systems; Swarm Intelligence

 

Saeed Salem, Ph.D.
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2009
QBB 258 B8
(701) 231-6377
Saeed.Salem@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Data Mining

 

Brian M. Slator, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University, 1988
QBB 258 A26
(701) 231-6124
Brian.Slator@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Artificial Intelligence; Educational Media

Picture of Jeremy Straub

Jeremy Straub, Ph.D.
University of North Dakota, 2016
QBB 258 B8
(701) 231-8196
Jeremy.Straub@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Artificial / Computational Intelligence; Autonomy Applications in Aerospace; Cybersecurity; 3D Printing Command / Control and Assessment; Educational Assessment in Computing Disciplines

 

Vasant Ubhaya, Ph.D.
University of California-Berkeley, 1971
QBB 258 A9
(701) 231-8947
Vasant.Ubhaya@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Algorithm Analysis; Approximation and Optimization

 

Gursimran Walia, Ph.D.
Graduate Coordinator of Software Engineering
Mississippi State University, 2009
QBB 258 A23
(701) 231-8185
Gursimran.Walia@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Empirical Software Engineering; Software Errors and Software Quality Improvement; Requirements Engineering; Human Cognition in Software Engineering; Managing and Estimating Software Quality

 

Changhui Yan, Ph.D.
Iowa State University, 2005
QBB 258 A27
(701) 231-8182
changhui.yan@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Computational Biology; Genomics; Machine Learning; Data Mining; Big Data; Cloud Computing

Professors of Practice

Portrait of Oksana Myronovych
Oksana Myronovych, Ph.D.
North Dakota State University, 2009
Associate Professor of Practice
QBB 258 B6
(701) 231-8265
Oksana.Myronovych@ndsu.edu

Lecturers

CS Dept portrait od Janet Fleming

Janet Fleming-Halmrast
Lecturer
janet.fleming@ndsu.edu

CS Dept portrait of Pratap Kotala

Pratap Kotala
Senior Lecturer, Ph.D.
QBB 258 B5
(701) 231-7493
Pratap.Kotala@ndsu.edu

Portrait of Joe Latimer

Joseph Latimer
Lecturer
QBB 258 A11
(701) 231-6509
joseph.latimer@ndsu.edu

CS Dept portrait of Alex Radermacher

Alex Radermacher
Lecturer
QBB 258 A15
(701) 231-8555
alex.radermacher@ndsu.edu

Staff

Kathleen Turley Cox
Learning Media Designer
QBB 258 A3
(701) 231-8721
kathleen.t.cox@ndsu.edu

Missy DeHaan
Academic & Career Advisor
Advise first- and second-year undergraduate Computer Science students. Assist students with course planning, and aligning coursework with career goals.
*Juniors, Seniors and Grad students in Computer Science are assigned to a faculty advisor.
QBB 258 B7
(701) 231-5799
melissa.dehaan@ndsu.edu

Picture of Guy Hokanson

Guy Hokanson
System Administrator/Programmer/Adjunct Lecturer
QBB 258-A20
(701) 231-7786
guy.hokanson@ndsu.edu

Emeritus/Retired

Retired
Dana Johnson


Retired
John Martin

Retired
Betty Opheim
Betty.Opheim@ndsu.edu

Portrait of Mark Pavicic

Retired
Mark Pavicic

In Memoriam

Bruce Erickson
In memoriam, Dr. Bruce Erickson
(May 6, 1943 - December 23, 2009)
Obituary

Paul Juell
In memoriam, Dr. Paul Juell
(August 26, 1945 - December 29, 2007)
Obituary

Portrait of Richard Rummelt

Richard Rummelt
In memoriam, Richard Rummelt
(September 30, 1956 - August 10, 2012)
Obituary

Picture of 	 William "Bill" Perrizo

William Perrizo
In memoriam, William Perrizo
(June 19, 1943 - July 16, 2016)
Obituary

Adjunct

Hyunsook Do
Gregory Wettstein

To top


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

NDSU Department of Computer Science
Dept #2740
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050

Email: Webmaster

Last Updated: Thursday, May 30, 2019 5:32:26 PM
Privacy Statement