Faculty

Anne Denton, Ph.D.

Professor
QBB 258 A28
(701) 231-6748
Anne.Denton@ndsu.edu

University of Mainz, 1996

Research Interests: Data Mining; Bioinformatics; Scientific Informatics; Databases; Geospatial Data; Cloud Computing

Jun Kong, Ph.D.

Professor and Graduate Coordinator of Computer Science
QBB 258 A14
(701) 231-8179
Jun.Kong@ndsu.edu

University of Texas, Dallas, 2005

Research Interests: Human Computer Interaction; Mobile Computing; Software Engineering

Lu Liu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
QBB 258 A13
(701) 231-5856
Lu.Liu.2@ndsu.edu

University of Texas at San Antonio, 2017

Research Interests: Bioinformatics, Data Mining, Machine Learning, & Data Science

Jen Li, Ph.D.

Professor
QBB 258 A12
(701) 231-9662
J.Li@ndsu.edu

University of British Columbia, 2008

Research Interests: Large-scale Distributed System (P2P and Cloud Computing, Distributed Search, Routing Algorithms); Semantic Web Technologies; Social Networks; Information Retrieval; Knowledge Discovery

Simone Ludwig, Ph.D.

Professor and Interim Department Chair
QBB 258 A22
(701) 231-8197
Simone.Ludwig@ndsu.edu

Brunel University, 2004

Research Interests: Swarm Intelligence; Evolutionary Computation; Fuzzy Reasoning; Cloud Computing

Kenneth Magel, Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Chair
QBB 258 A24
(701) 231-8189
Kenneth.Magel@ndsu.edu

Brown University, 1977

Research Interests: Software Engineering; Human-Computer Interfaces; Software Complexity; Software Design

M. Zubair Malik, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
QBB 258 B8
(701) 231-7248
Zubair.Malik@ndsu.edu

University of Texas at Austin, 2014

Research Interests: Program Analysis, Automated Program Repair, Secure Software Development, Software Verification-Validation and Testing, Software Systems (especially large scale Distributed Systems for Datascience and Machine Learning), Formal Methods, Application of Artificial Intelligence in Program Analysis

Saeed Salem, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
QBB 258 A8
(701) 231-6377
Saeed.Salem@ndsu.edu

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2009

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Data Mining

Jeremy Straub, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
QBB 424A
(701) 231-8196
Jeremy.Straub@ndsu.edu

University of North Dakota, 2016

Research Interests: Artificial / Computational Intelligence; Autonomy Applications in Aerospace; Cybersecurity; 3D Printing Command / Control and Assessment; Educational Assessment in Computing Disciplines

Vasant Ubhaya, Ph.D.

Professor
QBB 258 A9
(701) 231-8947
Vasant.Ubhaya@ndsu.edu

University of California-Berkeley, 1971

Research Interests: Algorithm Analysis; Approximation and Optimization

Changhui Yan, Ph.D.

Professor
QBB 258 A27
(701) 231-8182
Changhui.Yan@ndsu.edu

Iowa State University, 2005

Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Computational Biology; Genomics; Machine Learning; Data Mining; Big Data; Cloud Computing

Affiliated Faculty

Gursimran Walia, Ph.D.

Professor
(701) 231-8185
Gursimran.Walia@ndsu.edu

Mississippi State University, 2009

Research Interests: Empirical Software Engineering; Software Errors and Software Quality Improvement; Requirements Engineering; Human Cognition in Software Engineering; Managing and Estimating Software Quality

Professors of Practice

Oksana Myronovych, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Practice
QBB 258 B6
(701) 231-8265
Oksana.Myronovych@ndsu.edu

North Dakota State University, 2009

Pratap Kotala, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice and Software Engineering Graduate Facilitator
QBB 258 B5
(701) 231-7493
Pratap.Kotala@ndsu.edu

Lecturers

Dan Kahn

Lecturer
QBB 258 A13
(701) 231-6427
Dan.Kahn@ndsu.edu

Joseph Latimer

Lecturer
QBB 258 A11
(701) 231-6509
Joseph.Latimer@ndsu.edu

Alex Radermacher

Lecturer
QBB 258 A15
(701) 231-8555
Alex.Radermacher@ndsu.edu

Top of page