Content | Navigation |



Denise and Gregory McCarthy, with the one of the 2002 McCarthy Scholarship recipients: Jennifer Docktor.
Docktor McCarthy May 2003


These scholarships recognize outstanding undergraduate students, enrolled in physical or earth science departments at North Dakota State University, who are planning on entering the teaching profession. The scholarships are awarded annually in the amount of $500 each, with support coming from a NDSU Development Foundation endowment established by Denise and Gregory J. McCarthy.


Recipients of this scholarship will meet the following preferred criteria:

  1. Be properly enrolled at North Dakota State University during the time of actual disbursement of award(s).
  2. Be enrolled in a curriculum within the College of Science & Mathematics (CSM) that will enable the student to be certified to teach secondary physical or earth science.
  3. Have and maintain a minimum Grade Point Average of 3.2, on a scale of 4.0.


The final selection of the recipient(s) shall be made by a committee of at least three faculty and, optionally, additional members, selected by the CSM Dean. The committee generally meets following the spring semester each year, and awards are announced in mid-summer.

Previous Recipients:

2009   Bridgit Kilen
    Michael Ginsbach
2008   Bridgit Kilen
2007   Not awarded
2006   David Schultz
2005   David Schultz
2004   Not awarded
2003   Jennifer Docktor
    Paul Barron
2002   Jennifer Docktor
    Paul Barron
2001   Jennifer Docktor
    Kari Mitchell
    Gregory Rohde
    Rebecca Wertish
2000   Krista Fischer
    Jennifer Docktor
    Rebecca Wertish
1999   Matthew Hoffman
    Krista Fischer
1998   Matthew Hoffman
    Patricia Schiltz

For Further Information:

Contact the NDSU Center for Science and Mathematics Education, Family Life Center 314.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Published by: Center for Science & Mathematics Education

Last Updated: Monday, December 29, 2014 1:27:22 PM