ECS Research Advisors

Craig Stockwell

ECS Director

Professor in Biological Sciences
conservation biology; invasive species; contemporary evolution; restoration/translocation ecology

craig.stockwell@ndsu.edu 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Bakr Aly Ahmed

Associate Professor in Architecture & Landscape Architecture
built environment; sustainable architecture; construction technology; urban sustainability

Bakr.Alyahmed@ndsu.edu

Adnan Akyüz

Professor in AES
climatology; atmosphere; atmospheric physics

adnan.akyuz@ndsu.edu 

Laura Aldrich-Wolfe

Assistant Professor in Biological Sciences
restoration ecology; conservation biology; fungal community ecology 

laura.aldrichwolfe@ndsu.edu 

Allan Ashworth

Distinguished Professor Emeritus in Geosciences
paleoecology; paleoclimatology

allan.ashworth@ndsu.edu 

Marisol Berti

Professor in AES Plant Sciences
forages; cover crops; soil health; cropping systems; soil and water conservation

marisol.berti@ndsu.edu

Achintya Bezbaruah

Associate Professor in Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering; Director of NAE Grand Challenges Scholars Program
nanomaterials; environmental remediation; wastewater treatment; contaminant fate and transport

A.Bezbaruah@ndsu.edu 

Julia Bowsher

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
evolution; developmental physiology; insects

Julia.bowsher@ndsu.edu 

Igathinathane Cannayen

Assistant Professor in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
biomass preprocessing; agricultural engineering

igathinathane.cannayen@ndsu.edu 

Frank Casey

Professor and Director of School of Natural Resource Sciences
soil science; soil physics; hydrology; vadose zone; environmental science

francis.casey@ndsu.edu

Amitava Chatterjee

Associate Professor in Soil Science
Soil carbon; fertility; sugarbeet; corn; greenhouse gas emissions

amitava.chatterjee@ndsu.edu

Xuefeng (Michael) Chu

Professor and Interim Department Chair in Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering; Director of ND Water Resources Research Institute
hydrology; water resources; environmental engineering

xuefeng.chu@ndsu.edu 

Larry Cihacek

Professor in Soil Science
soil fertility; plant nutrition; sustainable agriculture; soil and water conservation

larry.cihacek@ndsu.edu 

Aaron Daigh

Associate Professor in Soil Science
soil physics; vadose zone hydrology; remediation; reclamation; agronomy

Aaron.Daigh@ndsu.edu 

Stephanie Day

Associate Professor and Chair of Geosciences
human-environment interactions; fluvial geomorphology; remote sensing

stephanie.day@ndsu.edu 

Anne Denton

Professor in Computer Science and Operations Research
data mining; bioinformatics; scientific informatics; databases; geospatial data; cloud computing

Anne.Denton@ndsu.edu 

Ned A Dochtermann

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
evolutionary ecology; behavioral syndromes; quantitative genetics

ned.dochtermann@ndsu.edu 

Paulo Flores

Assistant Professor in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
precision agriculture; unmanned aerial systems; imagery analysis

paulo.flores@ndsu.edu 

Caley Gasch

Assistant Professor in Soil Sciences
soil ecology; restoration; conservation

caley.gasch@ndsu.edu 

Erin Gillam

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
behavioral ecology; bats; animal behavior; animal communication

Erin.Gillam@ndsu.edu 

Kendra Greenlee

Professor and Chair of Biological Sciences
insect physiology; respiratory physiology; comparative immunology

kendra.greenlee@ndsu.edu 

Tim Greives

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
physiological ecology; seasonality; biological rhythms

Timothy.Greives@ndsu.edu 

Ademola (Demmy) Hammed

Research Assistant Professor in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
biotechnology engineering; agricultural bioproducts

ademola.hammed@ndsu.edu 

Christina Hargiss

Assistant Professor in Natural Resources Management
water use; water quality; wetland ecology; environmental education

christina.hargiss@ndsu.edu

Jason Harmon

Associate Professor in Entomology
environmental change; ecological interactions; biological control; entomology

Jason.Harmon@ndsu.edu 

Mark Harvey

Professor and Head of History, Philosophy, and Religious Studies Department
national parks; wilderness; US public lands; environmental figure biographies

mark.harvey@ndsu.edu 

Harlene Hatterman-Valenti

Professor and Assistant Department Head in Plant Sciences
horticulture; high-value crops; vegetables; fruits

H.Hatterman.Valenti@ndsu.edu

Robert Hearne

Professor in Agribusiness and Applied Economics
natural resource and environmental economics; water resource management

robert.hearne@ndsu.edu 

Britt Heidinger

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
physiological ecology; behavioral ecology; life-history evolution; senescence; stress response

Britt.Heidinger@ndsu.edu 

Syeed Md Iskander

Assistant Professor in Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
non-recyclable municipal solid waste management; food waste management; plastics pollution; landfilling; landfill leachate management

syeed.iskander@ndsu.edu

Xinhua Jia

Professor in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
irrigation and drainage; evapotranspiration; hydrology; water quality

Xinhua.Jia@ndsu.edu 

Eakalak Khan

Adjunct Professor in Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
environmental engineering; wastewater treatment

eakalak.khan@unlv.edu 

Page Klug

Affiliate Graduate Faculty in Biological Sciences; Research Wildlife Biologist and Project Leader - USDA
human-wildlife interactions; ecology; birds; snakes

page.e.klug@aphis.usda.gov 

Benjamin Laabs

Associate Professor in Geosciences
quaternary geology; glacial geology; cosmogenic nuclides; paleoclimate; surface processes

Benjamin.Laabs@ndsu.edu 

Trung Le

Assistant Professor in Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
hydraulics; fluid mechanics; numerical methods for fluid-structure interaction

trung.le@ndsu.edu 

Kenneth Lepper

Professor in Geosciences
OSL geochronology; quaternary geology; glacial geomorphology; Glacial Lake Agassiz; modern Great Lakes

Ken.Lepper@ndsu.edu 

Zhulu Lin

Associate Professor in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
soil and water resources management; environmental modeling

zhulu.lin@ndsu.edu 

John McEvoy

Professor and Department Head of Microbiological Sciences
parasitology; environmental microbiology

john.mcevoy@ndsu.edu

Jennifer Momsen

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
STEM education; higher education; ecology

jennifer.momsen@ndsu.edu

Nurun Nahar

Assistant Professor of Practice in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
biomass conversion; bioprocess engineering; biofuels

nurun.nahar@ndsu.edu 

Jack Norland 

Associate Professor in Natural Resources Management
restoration ecology; grassland; pasture management; remote sensing; urban ecosystems

jack.norland@ndsu.edu 

Peter Oduor

Professor in Geosciences
spatial analysis; environmental management; satellite image analysis; geoinformation

peter.oduor@ndsu.edu

Marinus Otte

Professor in Biological Sciences
botany; ecosystem ecology; biogeochemistry; environmental engineering

Marinus.Otte@ndsu.edu 

Birgit Pruess

Professor in Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences
microbial physiology; gene regulation

birgit.pruess@ndsu.edu 

David Rider

Professor in Entomology
entomology

David.rider@ndsu.edu 

David Ripplinger

Associate Professor in Agribusiness and Applied Economics
energy transport; agricultural economics

David.Ripplinger@ndsu.edu 

David Roberts

Associate Professor in Agribusiness and Applied Economics
bioeconomics; econometrics and environmental economics; natural resource management

David.C.Roberts@ndsu.edu 

Bernhardt Saini-Eidukat

Professor in Geosciences
geochemistry; mineralogy; petrology; ore deposits; environmental geology

Bernhardt.saini-eidukat@ndsu.edu

Kalidas Shetty

Professor in Plant Sciences; Associate Vice President for International Partnerships and Collaborations
plant science; agriculture; food science; human nutrition; public health

kalidas.shetty@ndsu.edu 

Todd Sirotiak

Associate Professor in Construction Management and Engineering
construction process improvement; sustainability

todd.sirotiak@ndsu.edu 

Matthew Smith

Associate Professor of Practice in Biological Sciences
morphology; physiological ecology

Matthew.Thomas.Smith@ndsu.edu 

Dean Steele

Associate Professor in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
irrigation and environmental engineering; computer aided analysis and design

dean.steele@ndsu.edu

Lydia Tackett

Associate Professor in Geosciences
paleoecology; sedimentology; taphonomy; stratigraphy; climate reconstruction

Lydia.Tackett@ndsu.edu 

Steven Travers

Associate Professor in Biological Sciences
botany; evolutionary ecology; climate change; phenology

steven.travers@ndsu.edu 

Cheryl Wachenheim

Professor in Agribusiness and Applied Economics 
agribusiness; behavior; economics; pedagogy; sales

cheryl.wachenheim@ndsu.edu 

Alexander Wagner

Associate Professor in Physics
Lattice Boltzmann; phase separation; fluctuations

alexander.wagner@ndsu.edu 

Top of page