Content | Navigation |


The mission of the Consortium is to represent the interests and concerns of the emergency management higher education community. This is accomplished by exchanging information, partnering with key stakeholders, and advancing the profession of emergency management through higher education.


All emergency management higher education programs are invited to join the Consortium.  Each member institution has a vote.  There is no cost to join. Download consortium flier.

To join the Consortium, send an email to Carol Cwiak at with the name of your institution and the name of the person who will represent your institution as a voting member.

Current Membership

California State University Long Beach

Capella University

Brandon University

Community College of Aurora

Community College of Rhode Island

Delaware Technical Community College

Durham Technical Community College

Eastern New Mexico University

Edmonds Community College

Emergency Management Academy

Fayetteville State University

Frederick Community College

George Washington University

Illinois Central College

Jacksonville State University

Laramie County Community College

Metropolitan College of New York

North Dakota State University

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology

Ohio Christian University

Oklahoma State University OKC

Owens State Community College

Passaic County Community College

Philadelphia University

Portland State University

Saint Joseph's University

Salem Community College

San Antonio College

San Jose State University (Mineta Trans. Institute)

Santa Monica College

Southeast Arkansas College

SUNY Erie Community College

Troy University

Tulane University

Union College

University of Akron

University of Central Florida

University of Cincinnati

University of Maryland Baltimore County

University of Maryland University College

University of Nevada Las Vegas

University of New Haven

University of North Texas

University of Oklahoma

University of Richmond

University of Toronto

Vincennes University

West Texas A & M University

Western Illinois University

Western Washington University

Wilmington University

Download EMHEC Membership List.

2012-2013 Action Plan

  • Work with the new FEMA Higher Education Program Director to advance the interests of and help address the needs of the emergency management higher education community
  • Increase membership
  • Develop a strategic plan
  • Review by-laws
  • Investigate the potential for nonprofit status
  • Develop Consortium marketing materials

Organization and Leadership

The Consortium's organization is delimited by its bylaws.

The Consortium's board is comprised of three practitioner community representatives, five academic representatives (one for each of the degree levels represented on the FEMA Higher Education Page’s college lists), and an executive director.

Current Executive Director and Board

Practitioner Community Representatives
Kay Goss, CEM
John McKay, M.A.
Daryl Spiewak, CEM

Doctoral Program Representative
Greg Shaw, D.Sc., CBCP

Master's Program Representative
Jane Kushma, Ph.D., ACSW

Bachelor Program Representative
David McEntire, Ph.D.

Associate Program Representative

Certificate Program Representative
Rick Bissell, Ph.D.

Member At-Large
Christine Springer, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Carol Cwiak, J.D., Ph.D.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Site Manager: Jessica Jensen


Last Updated: Wednesday, September 19, 2012 8:09:58 PM
Privacy Statement