The North Dakota Women in Higher Education Network (NDWHEN) invites you to participate in the first webinar of their 2020 Professional Webinar Series. This series is aimed to provide professional development and promote community through webinars focused on relevant topics to women in higher education.

Webinar 1 Overview

Title: The good, bad, and embarrassing: Navigating difficult conversations in higher education

Description: Do you: have to talk to an employee about not meeting expectations? …need to address inappropriate behavior with a student? …need to go to your supervisor with a concern? These are just a few examples of what could be termed ‘difficult conversations’. This interactive presentation will focus on providing skills and tools on how to get the most out of difficult conversations. Lessons learned, practical tools, and preparation strategies will be shared.

Date/Time: Thursday, March 12 | 9-10 a.m. (CDT)

Presenters: Melissa Johnson, Executive Director of Residential Life; Sandi Gilbertson, Executive Director of Human Resources; and Dr. Jane Vangsness Frisch, Vice President for Student Affairs – all from North Dakota State College of Science

Location: Once you submit the registration below you will receive information on how to log-in to the webinar from any internet-accessible device. Also with your confirmation, you will receive information about how to troubleshoot possible connection hiccups so you can have a smooth experience with the webinar. 

Registration: Please click here to register or copy/paste this into your browser:

ND Women in Higher Education Network

The mission of the North Dakota Women in Higher Education Network (ND WHEN) is to advance women's careers and leadership in North Dakota higher education.  

NDWHEN seeks to accomplish this mission by:

  1. Creating a network of women in higher education leadership positions;
  2. Providing professional development opportunities for women employed by North Dakota's colleges and universities;
  3. Promoting the visibility, recognition, and advancement of women qualified by education, experience, and personal characteristics for leadership positions in higher education;
  4. Eliminating barriers to women's achievement in higher education leadership.

Membership in NDWHEN is open to anyone with a commitment to advancing women's leadership in higher education in North Dakota.

NDWHEN is a part of the national ACE Women's Network, coordinated by the Inclusive Excellence Group of the American Council on Education.  

The work of NDWHEN is guided by a State Coordinator, the Board of Directors, Institutional Representatives, and Presidential Sponsors.  The roles of these individuals are more fully described in the NDWHEN Bylaws.

Next Step Mentorship Program

We are excited to announce a new initiative offered by ND WHEN - the Next Step Mentorship Program.

This program is intended to connect aspiring women leaders with women mentors who hold (or have held) leadership roles in Higher Education to further the aspiring leaders' careers and to help "move the needle" - a.k.a. increasing the number of women holding leadership positions in higher education.

Details about the Next Step Mentorship Program are available at this link.  If you are an aspiring leader or someone who would be willing to mentor an aspiring leader, information is provided about getting involved. Placements will be made on a continual basis.

ND WHEN Resources

For more information about ND WHEN, contact Laura Oster-Aaland at or 701-231-7052.

Board of Directors:

  • Kaylyn Bondy, Williston State College
  • Katie Fitzsimmons, North Dakota University System
  • Laurie Geller, Minot State University
  • Anne Kelsch, University of North Dakota
  • Melissa Naslund, University of North Dakota
  • Laura Oster-Aaland, North Dakota State University
  • Lisa Richter, North Dakota State University
  • Jane Vangsness Frisch, North Dakota State College of Science

Presidential Sponsors:

  • Dean Bresciani, North Dakota State University
  • Mark Kennedy, University of North Dakota
  • Cynthia Lindquist, Candeska Cikana Community College
  • John Richman, North Dakota State College of Science
  • Steven Shirley, Minot State University and Dakota College at Bottineau
  • Laurel A. Vermillion, Sitting Bull College

Bylaws - available here

Top of page