Content | Navigation |

Faculty Senate



Academic Year 2015-2016

Committee Members
NameRepresentation UnitPhoneEmailTerm Expires
Amy Rupiper TaggartOffice of the Provost, Assessment Director (Chair)1-8824 amy.rupipertaggart@ndsu.eduEx-officio
Beth TwomeyNDSU Libraries1-8141beth.twomey@ndsu.eduEx-officio
Connie EggersProfessional Adviser Liaison1-9847connie.eggers@ndsu.eduEx-officio
Marie GordonRegistration & Records1-6430marie.gordon@ndsu.eduEx-officio
Larry PetersonUniversity Assessment Office1-8824 larry.r.peterson@ndsu.eduEx-officio
Michael ChristoffersAg., Food Systems & Natural Resources1-1054michael.christoffers@ndsu.eduMay 2016
Dale SullivanArts, Humanities & Social Sciences1-7144dale.sullivan@ndsu.eduMay 2017
Joe Mike JonesBusiness1-7690 joseph.jones@ndsu.eduMay 2018
David WellsEngineering1-7283 david.l.wells@ndsu.eduMay 2017
Chengwen SunHealth Professions1-6454 chengwen.sun@ndsu.eduMay 2017
Justin WagemanHuman Development & Education1-7439justin.wageman@ndsu.eduMay 2016
Robert GordonScience & Mathematics1-6731robert.d.gordon@ndsu.eduMay 2017
Student1-8461May 2016
Student1-8461 May 2016
2014-2015 Meeting Minutes
September 12, 2014Minutes
October 10, 2014Minutes
November 14, 2014Minutes
December 12, 2014Minutes
January 14, 2015Minutes
January 28, 2015 *(Mandan Room)Minutes
February 11, 2015Minutes
February 25, 2015Minutes
March 11, 2015Minutes
March 25, 2015Minutes
April 8, 2015Minutes
April 22, 2015Minutes
May 6, 2015Minutes

Faculty Senate Bylaws: Article IV, Section 10

  1. Voting membership shall consist of one tenured faculty member from each representation unit, a representative from the Assessment Committee, and two students selected by the Student Government.

  2. Non-voting members shall consist one representative from each of the following: the NDSU Library, Registration and Records, the professional advisers (at least 50% of load is advising), and the Provost (or designee). There is no term limit for non-voting members.

  3. Committee responsibilities include:

    1. Ensuring that existing courses and experiences meet general education requirements.
    2. Developing criteria and procedures for submitting, evaluating, and approving courses and experiences that meet general education requirements of NDSU and the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.
    3. Developing criteria and procedures for submitting, evaluating, and approving courses or experiences that meet the general education requirements for integration into students’ curricula.
    4. Coordinating and recommending actions to the Faculty Senate on proposals for approving general education courses.
    5. Providing periodic assessment of students’ attainment of intended student outcomes in general education.
    6. Studying, coordinating, and recommending to the Faculty Senate policies and procedures for continuing improvement in general education.
    7. Selecting two representatives and one alternate for the North Dakota General Education Council.

General Education Program

The purpose of general education at NDSU is to ensure that students acquire knowledge, perspectives, and skills associated with a university education. The program is designed so that graduates will be able to adapt to and anticipate changes in their profession and in society. Graduates also will be able to integrate and use the knowledge and perspectives they have gained to live productive, intellectually rewarding, and meaningful lives.

Intended Student Outcomes:
  1. Communicate effectively in a variety of contexts and formats.
  2. Locate and use information for making appropriate personal and professional decisions.
  3. Comprehend the concepts and perspectives needed to function in national and international societies.
  4. Comprehend intra personal and interpersonal dynamics.
  5. Comprehend concepts and methods of inquiry in science and technology, and their applications for society.
  6. Integrate knowledge and ideas in a coherent and meaningful manner.
  7. Comprehend the need for lifelong learning.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

NDSU Faculty Senate

Page Manager: Office of Registration and Records

Last Updated: Wednesday, July 08, 2015 4:37:49 PM