State Board of Agricultural Research Minutes - December 15-16, 1997 (amended and approved February 9, 1998) Fargo, North Dakota

The State Board of Agricultural Research met December 15, 1997 on the NDSU campus, Loftsgard Hall at 9:00 a.m. Members present were: Sharon Anderson, Tom Archbold, Ryan Brooks, Tim Bryan, Sylvia Daws, Jerry Doan, Jody Hauge, Pat Jensen, Burdell Johnson, Roger Johnson, Shirley Meyer, Bob Nowatzki, Tom Plough, Dale Reimers, Robert Todd, and Mark Weber.

Chairman Jerry Doan called the meeting to order. Minutes of the November meeting were approved as amended.

Doan indicated the schedule for the two-day session would include presentations from the remaining topic areas identified as economically impacting North Dakota, a discussion pertaining to implementation of guidelines for the Ag Research Fund, and a budget planning discussion.

Following presentations on product evaluation, value-added/markets, food/human nutrition, environmental research programs, and policy, the SBAR spent time discussing the guidelines for the Ag Research Fund.

After discussing the make-up of the committees for Ag Research Fund proposal review within the 70% crop commodity area (commodities that account for at least 2% of the gross sales of all agricultural commodities grown or produced in the state), Jody Hauge made a motion recommending one committee for each commodity, with the committees consisting of mainly producers. The commodity groups should return the suggested names for committee members to State Board of Agricultural Research for approval within ninety days. Roger Johnson seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

The group discussed the make-up of the committee to review Ag Research Fund proposals submitted from the 18% set aside for animal agriculture. Shirley Meyer made a motion to form the committee as follows: one producer appointed by the ND Beef Commission, one producer appointed by the ND Stockmen's Association, one producer appointed by the ND Milk Producers Association, one producer appointed by the ND Bison Producers Association, the director of the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station or the director's designee, and an individual who has a background in agricultural research and experience in the contemplated field of study, appointed by the director of the ND Agricultural Experiment Station. Tom Archbold seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved. Burdell Johnson moved that the make-up of the committee for new or emerging crops (emerging crops are defined as any crop not included on the list of crops in the 70% category) should consist of four individuals appointed by the State Board of Agricultural Research, who are growers or producers of new or emerging crops or who have a familiarity with new or emerging crops, the ND Agricultural Experiment Station director, and an individual with a background in agricultural research and processing. Roger Johnson seconded the motion, which was approved.

The SBAR meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m. and members made a visit to the Cass County Extension Office for an informational tour session and social.

The SBAR reconvened at 9 a.m., December 16 in Loftsgard Hall. Sharon Anderson gave an extension update and introduced Connie Weed, Cass County Extension Agent and Les Stuber, Barnes County Extension Agent, who talked with the group about service learning and their role in dissemination of research information.

Robert Todd talked about budget preparation, stating the main task of the SBAR is to work in development of the budget request, which the legislature states is due to the State Board of Higher Education on or before March 1 of each year.

The SBAR discussed ideas they have about the budget process and requested the Vice President for Agricultural Affairs to present a list of suggested initiatives at the next SBAR meeting. It was noted, however, that it is important to complete initiatives in place before seeking funds for additional proposals or programs.

Roger Johnson restated the importance of identifying research areas with high potential for positive economic impact that will direct people back into the state.

Regarding the legislatively mandated Ag Research Fund, the SBAR discussed the policy requiring matching funds for research grant proposals submitted. Following that discussion, Ryan Brooks made a motion that funded projects require at least a 25% match, with encouragement for more than 25% for proposals from outside of North Dakota. Burdell Johnson seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

The following general guidelines were recommended for the research fund:

- 1. Committee members will be appointed annually. All committees (including major crops) will include the director of the ND Agricultural Experiment Station or the director's designee and an individual who has a background in agricultural research and experience in contemplated area.
- 2. Each review panel will give preference to projects with demonstrated positive economic impact to ND.
- 3. A one-to-one match will be required for proposals out of North Dakota; match must be made concurrent or subsequent to the specific project as it is approved.
- 4. Livestock and new and emerging crops proposals do not require match money.
- 5. Multi-year projects will be funded recipients must report progress to the SBAR annually.
- 6. All research results remain in public domain.
- 7. Out-of-state proposals require a ND collaborator approved by the chair or SBAR.
- 8. State Board of Agricultural Research does not cover operating expenses of granting committees.

Roger Johnson made a motion to adopt the recommended guidelines. Tim Bryan seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Noting that the next meeting of the State Board of Agricultural Research will be held January 26 in Fargo, the meeting adjourned on a motion by Roger Johnson, with Dale Reimers seconding the motion.

Recorded by Margaret Olson