## State Board of Agricultural Research and Education November 19 & 20, 2013 MINUTES

#### November 19, 2013

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met at the Holiday Inn, Fargo, ND on November 19-20, 2013. Board members in attendance were Leland (Judge) Barth, Mike Beltz, Tracy Boe, Chris Boerboom, Dean Bresciani, Doug Goehring, Ken Grafton, Rodney Howe, Jerry Klein, Paul Langseth, Brian Leier, Doyle Lentz, Keith Peltier, JoAnn Rodenbiker, Richard (Dick) Roland and Lyle Warner.

Chairman Beltz called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m., and noting a quorum, welcomed everyone to make introductions. No additions or corrections were made to the agenda, and it was unanimously approved. It was announced that the minutes from the October 31 meeting would be distributed and discussed the following day.

## Administrative Report from Dr. Grafton

Dr. Grafton handed out a spreadsheet showing the fund distribution resulting from the last legislative session. It shows all funds were distributed as intended. An additional handout regarding the Ag Research Fund provided a history of the fund's activity, how the monies have been distributed, and the decline is clear. Members should review the document as time allows.

The following individuals talked about programs/initiatives important to them as related to the SBARE budget planning process:

Steven Edwardson, North Dakota Barley Council

Larry Kotchman, NDSU / North Dakota Forest Service

Frank Casey, NDSU School of Natural Resource Sciences

Neil Dyer, NDSU Veterinary Diagnostic Services

Sam Markell on behalf of Jack Rasmussen, NDSU Department of Plant Pathology

Sreekala Bajwa, NDSU Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

William Nganje, NDSU Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics

Rich Horsley, NDSU Department of Plant Sciences

Charlene Wolf-Hall, NDSU Department of Veterinary and Microbiological Sciences

Tom Lilja, North Dakota Corn Growers Association

Tom Campbell, North Dakota Legislative District 19

Greg Lardy, NDSU Department of Animal Sciences

Jay Fisher, North Central Research Extension Center

Nancy Jo Bateman, North Dakota Beef Commission and NDSU AnSci & Ext FNP programming

JR Gibbens, Gibbens Farms, SkyCan, Cando Pasta

Neal Fisher, North Dakota Wheat Commission

Judy Gibbens, North Dakota Veterinary Medical Association

Tera Miller, Deanna Askew Chronic disease prevention (Department of Health)

Tim Courneya, North Harvest Bean Growers

Diana Read Gerontology (Department of Health)

Tom Burau, North Dakota State Soil Conservation Committee

At the conclusion of the day's input sessions, Chairman Beltz resumed discussion of additional business items. Members inquired on whether there was a master plan for space on the NDSU campus. Location for any potential new buildings or laboratories must be carefully considered. Discussion followed regarding University property, Research Extension Center property, and also what the North Dakota Century Code says about them.

## State Board of Agricultural Research and Education November 19 & 20, 2013 MINUTES

Chairman Beltz reminded the board that today we present the first 'Friend of SBARE Award' to Margaret Olson, who was the administrative support person for the Board from its inception in 1997 until her retirement in 2012. This award recognizes Margaret for her tireless efforts, support and dedication to the mission of the board over the years. At 3:51 p.m. Keith Peltier made a motion to adjourn today's meeting. Jerry Klein seconded. Motion carried.

#### November 20, 2013

SBARE reconvened at 8:34 a.m. at the same location. All board members were present with the exception of Dean Bresciani. After review of the October 31 meeting minutes, Jerry Klein made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Keith Peltier seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Judge Barth indicated to Chairman Beltz that he would report on the research he has conducted related to funding for the Ag Research Fund during the December 18 meeting.

**Seed Plant Report:** Keith Peltier reported that he visited with some makers of seed cleaning equipment, investigated various options in static vs. mobile units, and gathered pricing information. He plans to investigate other equipment makers in the near future and will report back to the Board with additional information.

#### Administrative Report from Dr. Boerboom

Eight counties in the oil patch area are facing significant salary inequities when comparing Extension and AES jobs to oil patch jobs. Continued focus on salary differential efforts is greatly needed. Salaries in the oil patch average 50% higher than the rest of the state. Extension and AES face resignations due to oil patch jobs, and filling vacancies is a challenge due to housing shortages and high cost of living. Dr. Boerboom provided a map handout illustrating the distribution of the 9000 wells that currently exist in the region. Experts estimate there may be up to 20-30,000 additional wells drilled before this is over. This will remain an issue for the long-term. As previously reported, funding sources were sought for salary differentials from an Emergency Fund at the State to alleviate some strain on employees; \$25,000 was received. After dividing this amount among affected employees, an average of \$130 will be given to each staffer. Keith Peltier asked about other possible funding sources and Dr. Boerboom stated that additional sources are still being sought and applied for; but the outcome is not yet known. Dick Roland asked how the salary inequities are handled in new-hire situations, and this was discussed further.

The following individuals talked about programs/initiatives important to them as related to the SBARE budget planning process.

April Haring, John Zetocha, and Jeff Forward, Oakes Enhancement, Inc.

Brad Cogdill, Extension 4-H Youth Development

Kathy Tweeten, Extension Community Vitality

Deb Gebeke, Extension Family and Consumer Sciences

Charlie Stoltenow, Extension Ag and Natural Resources

Jane Schuh and Denise Andress, Agri-health and safety

Chris Schauer, Hettinger Research Extension Center

Jim Broten, Agricultural engineering research needs in North Dakota

Tom Teigen, NDSU Agronomy Seed Farm

Nancy Johnson, North Dakota Soybean Growers Association

Jerry Bergman, Williston Research Extension Center

Bryan Neville, Central Grasslands Research Extension Center

Randy Mehlhoff, Langdon Research Extension Center

Barry Coleman, Northern Canola Growers Association

# State Board of Agricultural Research and Education November 19 & 20, 2013 MINUTES

\_\_\_\_\_

Brent Stroh and Dean Swenson, North Dakota Lamb and Wool Producers Julie Gemmill, supporting Extension Horizons and Community Vitality programming Clyde Reister, North Dakota Meat Processors

At the conclusion of the day's input sessions, Chairman Beltz resumed discussion of additional business items. He asked Dave Ruhland, Director of the NDSU Ag Budget office, to describe the revolving equipment fund that the research extension centers rely on for equipment purchases, so that new board members could fully understand how it is used. Outside of this fund, equipment purchases have to be met from alternative sources.

Commissioner Goehring urged the NDSU Extension Service and the Research Extension Centers to continue to educate producers on the need for forages and emphasize to producers that they try not to rely so much on CRP land for forage. More education and research is needed.

Chairman Beltz reminded the board of future meeting dates: December 18 at Carrington, ND; January 10, 2014 (location tba); members should also consider February 11 and March 11 as tentative meeting days.

Having no other business, Chairman Beltz asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Doyle Lentz made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Dick Roland seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 3:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Lorie Herbel.