NORTH DAKOTA

STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATION DECEMBER 4, 2019 MEETING MINUTES

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education met for a regular meeting, along with a Testimony/Input Session in Bismarck, ND on December 4, 2019.

Members in Attendance: Jim Bahm, Doug Bichler, Mark Birdsall, Lance Gulleson, Larry Hoffmann, Jerry Klein, Greg Lardy, Brian Leier, Sarah Lovas, Dick Roland, Dean Wehri, and Julie Zikmund. Tom Bodine attended on behalf of Doug Goehring. Members Absent: Tracy Boe, Dean Bresciani.

Chairman Birdsall called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. He welcomed members and guests, and invited everyone in attendance to make introductions.

MOTION: Sarah Lovas made a motion to approve the November 14 and 15, 2019 SBARE meeting minutes; seconded by Doug Bichler. Motion carried.

Administrative Updates, Dr. Greg Lardy

The search process continues for the position of Vice President for Agricultural Affairs; update was given. Dr. Lardy also reported on the Dickinson REC Director position; four candidates for interview have been identified.

NDSU fundraising efforts and Giving Day information was shared.

Mark Birdsall, SBARE Chair

Chairman Birdsall, along with other SBARE members attended the Burleigh County Extension event. It was well-attended and provided a good opportunity to present information regarding SBARE. Other events attended by SBARE members include ND Farmers Union and ND Farm Bureau.

Discussion was held regarding the deadline to submit testimony.

MOTION: Sarah Lovas made a motion to establish January 10, 2020 as the deadline to submit testimony via email or website, hard-copy via USPS to be post-marked January 10, 2020. Lance Gulleson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting moved forward with testimony.

Stakeholder Input:

The following individuals, in order of appearance, talked about programs and initiatives important to them as part of the stake holder and constituent input process:

- Elizabeth Neshem ND Stockmen's Association
- David D. Monson Farmer
- Carter Vander Wal ND Irrigation Association
- Karl Rockeman DEQ, Division of Water Quality
- Amber Boeshans ND Livestock Alliance
- Kendall Nichols ND Soybean Council
- Tamra Heins ND Pork Council

- John Weinand Northern Great Plains Research Laboratory Customer Focus Group
- ND Veterinary Medical Association
- Allen Timm T2Honey Company, Hettinger
- Bruce Schmidt State Soil Conservation Committee
- Tom Wheeler Williston REC Advisory Board
- John Nordgaard Northern Plains Potato Growers Association
- Barry Coleman Northern Canola Growers Association
- Derek Pulvermacher Farmer
- Matt Perdue ND Farmers Union
- Howard Olson AgCountry Farm Credit Services
- Blake Inman US Durum Growers Association
- Duane DeKrey Garrison Diversion Conservancy District
- Dr. Chapara/Randy Mehlhoff Langdon Research Extension Center

At the conclusion of the stakeholder input session, Chairman Birdsall asked if board members had any comments or questions.

MOTION: Jerry Klein made a motion to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Sarah Lovas. Motion Carried.

Meeting adjourned 4:00 p.m. Respectfully submitted, Wendy Breitbach