The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education Announces Leadership and Newly Elected Members

Fargo — *SBARE* — The North Dakota State Board of Agricultural Research and Education announces new changes for the upcoming year.

Mike Beltz of Hillsboro has been elected the new chair of the board. He has been a board member since July, 2010. Beltz, a long time North Dakota producer, has served on the boards of the ND Dry Bean Council, the ND Soybean Council, and the ND Ag Coalition.

Keith Peltier of West Fargo was elected vice chair of the board. He has served on the board since July, 2012. Active in agricultural and community organizations, Peltier is a current board member of the Northern Canola Growers Association.

In addition, newly elected board members Lyle Warner and Brian Leier were appointed to four-year terms ending in 2017.

Warner owns and operates a livestock farm near Baldwin. He retired from Bismarck State College (BSC) in 2009 after 27 years of teaching agribusiness as associate professor of Agriculture, Technology and Natural Resources. Warner has also been recognized for his accomplishments with high honors including induction into the Hall of Fame for NDSU Saddle and Sirloin (Agriculturalist of the Year) and was given the highest honor of Master Sheep Producer, awarded at the annual convention of the North Dakota Lamb and Wool Producers Association. Leier is a certified seed grower from Linton. He is exceptionally active and has served on a variety of boards including; Emmons County Crop Improvement director, Emmons County Farm Bureau board member, Carrington Research Extension Center advisory board member (county representative), Emmons County representative on the ND Barely Council and past Emmons County Soil Conservation district board member, 2000-2012.

Appreciation for members concluding their terms

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education expresses their thanks to Rodney Howe, outgoing Chairman for his persistence and dedication to agricultural research. Howe's current term on the board expires in 2015.

Outgoing board members include Robert Bahm and John Bollingberg. Both Bahm and Bollingberg served from 2004-2013. Bahm and Bollingberg provided great leadership and knowledge to SBARE, and they will be missed.

The board will begin actively working on business for the next legislative session at their meeting on September 12-13.

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education was established in 1997 with responsibilities to oversee agricultural research and Extension at NDSU.

###

For more information, press only:

Office of the Vice President for Agricultural Affairs 701-231-7655

For more information on SBARE:

http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/sbare