# State Board of Agricultural Research and Education

# Who we are and what we do

## **History**

The State Board of Agricultural Research (SBAR) was established by legislative decree in 1997. It was responsible for budgeting and policy-making associated with the supervision of the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station.



The law was changed during the 1999 legislative session to include responsibility for the

North Dakota State University Extension Service. SBAR became the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (SBARE).

# **Duties**

SBARE, within the policies of the State Board of Higher Education (SBHE), is responsible for budgeting and policy-making associated with the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station and North Dakota State University Extension.

SBARE responsibilities are to:

- Determine the causes of any adverse economic impacts on crops and livestock produced in the state;
- Develop ongoing strategies for the provision of research solutions and resources to negate adverse economic impacts on crops and livestock produced in this state;
- Develop proactive strategies for NDSU Extension to fulfill the mission of improving the lives and livelihood of the citizens of North Dakota by providing research-based education;
- Implement the strategies developed under bullets 2 and 3, subject to approval by the SBHE;
- Develop, with the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station and NDSU Extension, an annual budget for the operations of these entities;
- Develop a biennial budget request based on its prioritized needs list and submit that request to the president of NDSU and the SBHE, and forward its prioritized needs list and request without modification to the Office of Management and Budget and the appropriations committees of the legislative assembly;
- Maximize the use of existing financial resources, equipment, and facilities to generate the greatest economic benefit from research and extension efforts and to promote efficiency;
- Annually evaluate the results of research and extension activities and expenditures, and report the findings to the Legislative Council and the SBHE;
- Advise the President of NDSU regarding the recruitment, selection and performance of the Vice President for Agricultural Affairs, the NDSU Extension Director and the Station Director; and
- Provide a status report to the budget section of the Legislative Council.

### **Membership**

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education consists of:

- NDSU President or the President's designee
- NDSU Vice President for Agricultural Affairs\*
- North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station Director\*
- NDSU Extension Director\*
- Five people appointed by Ag Coalition
- Five people appointed in the geographic areas represented by NDSU Extension's multicounty program units
- North Dakota Agriculture Commissioner\*
- Two members of the legislative assembly appointed by the chair of Legislative Council

\* serve in ex-officio, nonvoting capacity

#### Communicate with board: ndsu.sbare@ndsu.edu

Jim Bahm 4422 42nd Ave New Salem ND 58563-9776 701-471-9423 jrbbahm@gmail.com

Doug Bichler 130 83rd St SE Linton ND 58552 701-226-4068 dougbichler@hotmail.com

David Cook, President NDSU Dept. 1000, PO Box 6050 Fargo ND 58108-6050 701-231-7211 david.j.cook@ndsu.edu

John Dhuyvetter 2120 Academy Road Minot ND 58703 406-783-7999 john.dhuyvetter@outlook.com

Doug Goehring, Ag Commissioner 600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept. 602 Bismarck ND 58505-0020 701-328-4754 goehring@nd.gov

Pam Gulleson PO Box 215 Rutland ND 58067 701-471-4256 pgulleson@gmail.com

Larry Hoffmann 14575 35th St NE Wheatland ND 58079 701-238-2602 magnolia@ictc.com

Jerry Klein, State Legislator PO Box 265 Fessenden ND 58428-0265 701-547-3517 *iklein@ndlegis.gov*  Greg Lardy NDSU VP for Agricultural Affairs ND Ag Experiment Station Director NDSU Extension Director NDSU Dept. 7520, PO Box 6050 Fargo ND 58108-6050 701-231-7660 gregory.lardy@ndsu.edu

Sarah Lovas, Chair 607 5th Ave SE Hillsboro ND 58045 701-866-1704 sarah.e.h.lovas@gmail.com

Alisa Mitskog, State Legislator 1504 Oakwood Avenue Wahpeton ND 58075-3553 701-640-4006 amitskog@ndlegis.gov

John Nordgaard, Vice Chair 410 Sunset Bay Rd Bottineau ND 58318-8144 701-739-3819 john.nordgaard@blackgoldfarms.com

Scott Ouradnik 6703 141st Ave SW Amidon ND 58620 701-440-8321 mrmedora@hotmail.com

Mark Urquhart 1809 3rd Ave NE Jamestown ND 58401 701-368-1473 urky70@hotmail.com

Julie Zikmund 205 Southview Drive Park River ND 58270 701-331-2458 jgothman@hotmail.com julie.zikmund@und.edu



#### www.ndsu.edu/vpag/sbare