Content | Navigation |

Faculty & Staff

Elizabeth Blodgett Salafia, Associate Professor
(Ph.D., University of Notre Dame)
Office Phone: 701- 231-7099
Email: Elizabeth.salafia@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Adolescent Development
Research Interests: Family and peer influences on adolescents disordered eating attitudes and behaviors
Research Lab: Healthy Eating and Body Image Lab
Developmental Science Program

Sean Brotherson, Extension Family Science Specialist, Professor
(Ph.D., Oregon State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-6143
Email: sean.brotherson@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Family Science
Research Interests: Parenting and fatherhood; Health marriages; Family stress; Rural families; Grief and bereavement; Family life education; Family policy
Developmental Science Program

Kim Bushaw, Extension Family Science Specialist (M.S., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-7450
Email: kim.bushaw@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Family Science

 

James E. Deal, Professor
(Ph.D., University of Georgia)
Office Phone: 701-231-7568
Email: jim.deal@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child Development 
Research Interests:  My current research focuses on identity development in emerging adults, particularly in the areas of religion and the transition to college. I am particularly interested in first generation and/or low income students and issues related to financial support.  
Developmental Science Program

Heather Fuller , Associate Professor (Ph.D., University of Michigan)
Office Phone: 701-231-5621
Email:Heather.Fuller@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Adult Development and Aging
Research Interests: Social relationships across the lifespan (e.g. intergenerational relationships); Psychological well-being in old age; Culture and Aging; Migration, transnationalism and acculturation; Biculturalism
Research Lab:Linked Lives Lab
Developmental Science Program

Joel Hektner, Professor and Head (Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Office Phone: 701-231-8269
Email: joel.hektner@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child, Adolescent Development
Research Interests: Aggressive children; Research methods; Prevention programs for high-risk aggressive children; Peer affiliation patterns and peer influences on children's behaviors; Family and school conditions that facilitate optimal experiences (flow) and optimal development; The Experience Sampling Method
Developmental Science Program

Carrie Johnson,  Extension Personal and Family Finance Specialist, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., Iowa State University)
Office phone: 701-231-8593
Email: carrie.johnson.1@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Personal and Family Finance Extension
Research Interests:
Personal finance for low-income and underserved populations; Financial education impact; Student loan debt: Program delivery methods and evaluation; Behavioral finance across the lifespan.

Nancy Kaler, Senior Lecturer
(M.S., University of North Dakota)
Office Phone: 701-231-7843
Email: Nancy.Kaler@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Consumer education, internships in HDFS 

Christi McGeorge, Professor
(Ph.D., University of Minnesota)
Office Phone: 701-231-7335
Email: Christine.McGeorge@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Couple and Family Therapy and Family Science
Research Interests Include: Influence of heterosexism and homophobia on clinical practice and training, gender equity in therapy, gender equity in higher education, feminist theories, and societal perceptions of single parents.

Melissa Lunsman O'Connor, Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., University of South Florida)
Office Phone: 701-231-8268
Email:melissa.oconnor@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Adult Development and Aging
Research Interests: Examining age-related differences and changes in cognitive and functional abilities, such as driving, among healthy adults and clinical populations; quantitative methods and psychometrics; interventions for improving cognition, health, and everyday functioning; and attitudes toward dementia.
Research Lab: Healthy Aging Lab
Developmental Science Program

 

Candace Philbrick, Senior Lecturer
(Ph.D., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-8268
EmailCandace.philbrick@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Gerontology 
Brandy A. Randall , Professor
(Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Office Phone: 701-231-8742
Email: Brandy.Randall@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Child, Adolescent Development
Research Interests: Relational and contextual influences on adolescents' and young adults' positive and problem behaviors
Research Lab Positive Human Development
Developmental Science Program

Greg Sanders, Professor
(Ph.D., University of Georgia)
Office Phone: 701-231-8272
Email: Greg.Sanders@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Gerontology
Research Interests: Later life families, caregiving, mental health and aging.

 

 

Meagan Scott, 4-H Youth Development Specialist/Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., Oklahoma State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-7964
Email: meagan.scott@ndsu.edu
Core Area: 4-H Youth Development
Area of Responsibility:
 Family and Consumer Science, Communication Arts, Afterschool Training, Adolescent Development, Children, Youth, and Families at Risk

Tom Stone Carlson , Professor
(Ph.D., Iowa State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-8279
Email: tom.carlson@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Couple and Family Therapy and Family Science 
Research Interests Include: Trainee experiences and effectiveness of narrative pedagogy, Client experiences and outcomes of relational accountability approach to couples therapy, Evaluation of LGBT affirmative therapy competence among therapists, and Influence of spirituality of clinical practice and training.

 

Jane Strommen, Extension Gerontology Specialist and Assistant Professor of Practice
(Ph.D. North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-5948
Email: jane.strommen@ndsu.edu
Core Area:  Gerontology
Research Interests:  Family caregiving, rural elders, aging in place, healthy aging 
Website:  Aging & Wellness

 

Ann Werlinger, Senior Lecturer
(M.S., North Dakota State University)
Office: EML 277E 
Office Phone: 701-231-9790
Email: Ann.Werlinger@ndsu.edu 
Rebecca Woods, Associate Professor
(Ph.D., Texas A&M University)
Office Phone: 701-231-9791
Email: Rebecca.woods@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Infant & toddler development
Research Interests: Perception and cognition in infancy; object processing; multimodal processing, adults' influence on infant learning
Research Lab: Infant Cognitive Development Lab
Developmental Science Program

Dena Wyum, Senior Lecturer: Human Development and Family Science and Women and Gender Studies
(M.S., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-77553
Email: Dena.Wyum@ndsu.edu 

Academic Adviser

Dani Kvanvig-Bohnsack, Academic Advisor
(M.A., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-9849
Email: Danielle.Kvanvig@ndsu.edu
Dani advises freshman and sophomores in Human Development Family Science (HDFS), Elementary Education with HDFS and Social Work with HDFS.

Link to: Schedule an Appointment with Dani Kvanvig-Bohnsack

Academic Advising Frequently Asked Questions

Social Work Faculty

Amy Phillips,  Associate Professor (Minot State University) and Site Coordinator, Minot State University Social Work Program
(MSSW, Columbia University; PhD, University of North Dakota)
Office Phone: 701-231-9792
Office: EML Hall 277
Email:amy.phillips.1@minotstateu.edu


Trude Hendrickson,
Adjunct Faculty (Minot State University) and Field Coordinator, Minot State University Social Work Program
Office Phone: 701-231-5742
Office: EML Hall 283
Email: trude.hendrickson@minotstateu.edu

HDFS Staff

Theresa Anderson, HDFS Academic Assistant
Office Phone: 701-231-8268
Email:Theresa.Anderson@ndsu.edu 

Jeanne Erickson, Extension-HDFS Administrative Secretary
Office Phone: 231-8652
Email: jeanne.erickson@ndsu.edu



 


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Site Manager: Theresa.Anderson@ndsu.edu
Published by North Dakota State University

Last Updated: Wednesday, September 26, 2018 10:50:49 AM
Privacy Statement