People

Faculty & Staff

Elizabeth Blodgett Salafia

Elizabeth Blodgett Salafia, Professor
(Ph.D., University of Notre Dame)
Office Phone: 701- 231-7099
Email: Elizabeth.salafia@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
 Adolescent Development
Research Interests: Family and peer influences on adolescents disordered eating attitudes and behaviors
Research Lab: Healthy Eating and Body Image Lab
Developmental Science Program

Sean Brotherson
Sean Brotherson, Extension Family Science Specialist, Professor
(Ph.D., Oregon State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-6143
Email: sean.brotherson@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
 Family Science
Research Interests: Parenting and fatherhood; Health marriages; Family stress; Rural families; Grief and bereavement; Family life education; Family policy
Developmental Science Program
Kim Bushaw

Kim Bushaw, Extension Family Science Specialist 
(M.S., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone
: 701-231-7450
Email:kim.bushaw@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
Family Science

 

Jim Deal
James E. Deal, Professor
(Ph.D., University of Georgia)
Office Phone: 701-231-7568
Email: jim.deal@ndsu.edu

Core Area: 
Child Development 
Research Interests:  My current research focuses on identity development in emerging adults, particularly in the areas of religion and the transition to college. I am particularly interested in first generation and/or low income students and issues related to financial support.  
Developmental Science Program
Heather Fuller

Heather Fuller , Associate Professor 
(Ph.D., University of Michigan)
Office Phone:
701-231-5621
Email:Heather.Fuller@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
 Adult Development and Aging
Research Interests:
 Social relationships and well-being across the lifespan (e.g. intergenerational relationships); Successful aging and health promotion; Aging in rural and cross-cultural contexts; Aging families and caregiving; Survey research and program evaluation
Research Lab:Linked Lives Lab
Developmental Science Program

Joel Hektner
Joel Hektner, Professor and Head 
(Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Office Phone:
701-231-8269
Email: joel.hektner@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
 Child, Adolescent Development
Research Interests:

Design and effectiveness of programs to prevent adjustment problems and promote well-being in children and adolescents; Peer affiliation patterns and peer influences on children's behaviors; Family and school conditions that facilitate optimal experiences (flow) and optimal development; The Experience Sampling Method

Developmental Science Program
Carrie Johnson

Carrie Johnson,  Extension Personal and Family Finance Specialist, Associate Professor 
(Ph.D., Iowa State University)
Office phone:
701-231-8593
Email:carrie.johnson.1@ndsu.edu
Core Area: Personal and Family Finance Extension
Research Interests:
Personal finance for low-income and underserved populations; Financial education impact; Student loan debt: Program delivery methods and evaluation; Behavioral finance across the lifespan.

Nancy Kaler

Nancy Kaler, Senior Lecturer
(M.S., University of North Dakota)
Office Phone: 701-231-7843
Email: Nancy.Kaler@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
 Consumer education, internships in HDFS 

Christi McGeorge

Christi McGeorge, Professor
(Ph.D., University of Minnesota)
Office Phone: 701-231-7335
Email: Christine.McGeorge@ndsu.edu

Core Area
: Couple and Family Therapy and Family Science
Research Interests Include: Influence of heterosexism and homophobia on clinical practice and training, gender equity in therapy, gender equity in higher education, feminist theories, and societal perceptions of single parents.

Melissa Lunsman O'Connor

Melissa Lunsman O'Connor, Associate Professor
(Ph.D., University of South Florida)
Office Phone: 701-231-8268
Email:melissa.oconnor@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
Adult Development and Aging
Research Interests: Examining age-related differences and changes in cognitive and functional abilities, such as driving, among healthy adults and clinical populations; quantitative methods and psychometrics; interventions for improving cognition, health, and everyday functioning; and attitudes toward dementia.
Research Lab: Healthy Aging Lab
Developmental Science Program

Candace Philbrick
Candace Philbrick, Senior Lecturer
(Ph.D., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-8268
EmailCandace.philbrick@ndsu.edu

Core Area: 
Gerontology 
Meagan Scott Hoffman

Meagan Scott Hoffman, 4-H Youth Development Specialist/Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., Oklahoma State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-7964
Email:meagan.scott@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
4-H Youth Development
Area of Responsibility:
 Family and Consumer Science, Communication Arts, Afterschool Training, Adolescent Development, Children, Youth, and Families at Risk

Tom Stone Carlson

Tom Stone Carlson , Professor
(Ph.D., Iowa State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-8279
Email: tom.carlson@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
 Couple and Family Therapy and Family Science 
Research Interests Include: Trainee experiences and effectiveness of narrative pedagogy, Client experiences and outcomes of relational accountability approach to couples therapy, Evaluation of LGBT affirmative therapy competence among therapists, and Influence of spirituality of clinical practice and training.

Jane Strommen

Jane Strommen, Extension Gerontology Specialist and Assistant Professor of Practice
(Ph.D. North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-5948
Email:jane.strommen@ndsu.edu

Core Area:
  Gerontology
Research Interests:  Family caregiving, rural elders, aging in place, healthy aging 
Website:  Aging & Wellness

Ann Werlinger
Ann Werlinger, Senior Lecturer
(M.S., North Dakota State University)
Office: EML 277E 
Office Phone: 701-231-9790
Email: Ann.Werlinger@ndsu.edu 
Dena Wyum
Dena Wyum, Senior Lecturer: Human Development and Family Science and Women and Gender Studies
(M.S., North Dakota State University)
Office Phone: 701-231-77553
Email: Dena.Wyum@ndsu.edu 

Social Work Faculty

Melanie Fierstine

Melanie Fierstine, Assistant Professor, Minot State University Social Work Program
(MSW, University of Minnesota; LICSW)
Office Phone: 701-231-5742
Office: EML Hall 277
Email: melanie.fierstine@minotstateu.edu

 

Amy Phillips

Amy Phillips, Professor, Minot State University Social Work Program
(MSSW, Columbia University; PhD, University of North Dakota)
Office Phone: 701-231-9792
Office: EML Hall 283
Email:amy.phillips.1@minotstateu.edu

HDFS Staff

Maggie Heinle

Maggie Heinle, Office Manager, HDFS
Office Phone: 231-8268
Email: Maggie.Heinle@ndsu.edu

 

 

 

Krista Olson
Krista Olson, Administrative Secretary, HDFS Extension
Office Phone: 231-8652
Email: Krista.L.Olson@ndsu.edu
Top of page