About NDSU College of Health Professions (CHP)

The NDSU College of Health Professions prepares students to be practice-ready and team ready in many different health care settings. The more than 2,000 students in the College of Health Professions participate in interdisciplinary hands-on education. The College's focus is on team-based education, working in conjunction with all health care disciplines, just as students will do in health care settings when they graduate. Students in the College can find a program that fits their career goals, including:  pharmacy, nursing, health services, sonography, radiologic sciences, respiratory care, medical laboratory sciences and public health. As a major academic unit of North Dakota State University, the College serves the state, region, and nation providing education, research, patient care, and public service.

Tradition linked with innovation are hallmarks of the NDSU College of Health Professions for more than 100 years.

The College advances health care through research and scholarship. We prepare students to become competent, caring, ethical, professionals and citizens, committed to lifelong learning. Through its people and programs, the College emphasizes and values people; quality; professionalism and ethics; knowledge, teaching, and learning; research and scholarship; patient-focused care; and interprofessional education. The College of Health Professions is currently the largest health professions training program in North Dakota. 


Four academic units involving six health professions disciplines comprise the College: (1) the NDSU School of Pharmacy with two departments, including pharmacy practice and pharmaceutical sciences, which are the founding members of the College (established in 1902); (2) the School of Nursing which joined the College in 1969 as an associate degree program, 1986 as a baccalaureate degree program, 2001 with a master’s program, 2005 with a doctor of nursing practice, and 2014 with NDSU Nursing at Sanford Health site in Bismarck; (3) the Department of Allied Sciences (Medical Laboratory Science, Respiratory Care, and Radiologic Sciences with three unique specializations including radiography, echocardiography, and diagnostic sonography)  joined the College in  2006; and (4) the Department of Public Health which joined the College in 2012. 

Top of page