Content | Navigation |


No other issue in the history of our campus has created a turnout like the smoking ban (Smoke-free Facilities Policy #153) measure in May 2009. Students turned out in record numbers and overwhelmingly voted on a campus-wide smoking ban. Moreover, in November 2009, staff and faculty voted in favor of the Smoke-free Facilities Policy through a "straw poll" administered by Staff and University Senate, respectively. Subsequently, staff and faculty voted in favor of the policy in their respective senate. The University Senate passed the policy on December 14, 2009. President Richard Hanson signed the policy on December 18, 2009, which will be effective on March 1, 2010.

Who is the Tobacco Project Committee?

 The committee was formed by the College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences with broad representation of students, staff, faculty, and includes community health specialist from Fargo Cass Public Health (FCPH).


Larry Anenson (FCPH)

Chelsey Matter (FCPH)

Bette Deede (FCPH)

Dean Gross (NDSU Faculty)

Gary Liguori (NDSU Faculty)

Wendy Brown (NDSU Faculty)

Laurel Aaberg (NDSU Pharmacy Student)

Amber Altstadt (NDSU Student Body President)

Pat Wilson (NDSU Emergency Management Student)

Kevin Black (NDSU Engineering Student)

Natasha Petry (NDSU Pharmacy Student)

Stacey Holm (Health Educator, NDSU Health Wellness Center)

Barbara Lonbaken (Dean, NDSU Health Wellness Center)

Charles D. Peterson (Dean, College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences)

Laura Oster-Aaland (Director, Orientation & Student Success)

Rita Prunty (NDSU Staff)

Bruce Frantz (Director, Facilities Management)

Christian B. Albano (NDSU Faculty)

Who is the President's Task Force on Policy 153?

To continue the work of the Tobacco Project Committee the President's Task Force on Policy 153 was officially created.  The committee charges include developing and implementing an educational program centered on creating awareness and respect of the policy, and developing enforcement procedures.  Specific focus areas include: outreach education and advertisement, enforcement team, neighborhood relations, campus signage, policy assessment, and campus space and facilities.


   Affolter, Shawnshawn.affolter.2@ndsu.eduLocation/Boundaries
   Albano, Christianchristian.albano@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness
   Altstadt, Amberamber.altstadt@ndsu.eduTask Force Co-Chair
   Baker, Jenniferjennifer.baker@ndsu.eduEnforcement
   Dorn, Lynnlynn.dorn@ndsu.eduLocation/Boundaries
   Frazier, Emilyemily.frazier@ndsu.eduEnforcement
   Harwood, Michaelmichael.harwood@ndsu.eduLocation/Boundaries*
   Hauck, Lisalisa.hauck@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness
   Holm, Staceystacey.holm@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness
   McDaniel, Lauralaura.mcdaniel@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness*
   Miller, Kelsey Annekelsey.miller.1@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness
   Morrison, Donnadonna.morrison@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness
   Olson, Vancevance.olson@ndsu.eduEnforcement
   Oster-Aaland, Lauralaura.oster-aaland@ndsu.eduEducation & Awareness
   Peterson, Caseycasey.peterson@ndsu.eduEnforcement*
   Schindlbeck, Kevinkevin.schindlbeck@ndsu.eduLocation/Boundaries
   Stoskopf, Jannajanna.stoskopf@ndsu.eduTask Force Co-Chair


If you have any questions or comments regarding the history please contact Amber Altstadt ( or Christian Albano (

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Phone: +1 (701) 231-7456 / Fax: (701) 231-7606
Campus address: Sudro Hall 123
Physical/delivery address: 1401 Albrecht Boulevard, Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 2650 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: College of Health Professions

Last Updated: Wednesday, May 20, 2015 12:45:51 PM
Privacy Statement