Scholarship Applications


To complete the online scholarship application please use the following link: and click on the "apply now" button.  You will then be asked to log in using the same credentials that you use for blackboard. 

We hope you find the system easy to use.  For general information, you can also refer to the video on the scholarship information page 

All external scholarships will also be listed on the same site so log in often to see if new opportunities have been added for you.

REMEMBER: Be sure to observe the criteria and deadline for each scholarship. It is the student's responsibility to submit the scholarship application and respond to all additional questions posed.

If you have questions, please email: History, Philosophy, & Religious Studies

Scholarships, Prizes, and Awards

Available department scholarships are:

Darrow R. and Elinor E. Beaton Scholarship

The Darrow R. Beaton and Elinor E. Beaton Endowed Scholarship was established in 1999 by the Beatons to honor the memory of their late daughter Gail Beaton Peterson, wife of NDSU History professor Larry Peterson. Requirements are a full-time student pursuing a degree in History at NDSU through the department, have sophomore or above standing , cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher, or be an incoming freshman student having obtained an ACT score of 25 or its equivalent and majoring in History.

Albert G. and Celeste Brauer Scholarship

The Albert G. and Celeste Brauer Scholarship was established by Albert G. and Celeste Brauer in April 1992. The award is given annually to students in good academic standing enrolled in history.

Virginia P. George Endowed Scholarship

The Virginia P. George Endowed Scholarship is for any graduate student in history.

History & Religion Faculty Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is endowed soley by the contributions of the faculty of the Department of History, Philosophy and Religious Studies. The scholarship is available to students who are majoring within the department and is chosen by the members of the Department.

Michael J. Lyons Writing Award

The award is given to a student whose written work exemplifies Michael J. Lyons' dedication to vivid and clear prose. The student's writing should demonstrate analytical and synthesizing skills and the ability to write with precision and style. The award was established by his friends and colleagues in 1993 to honor him for his outstanding contributions to the study of history and for his devotion to the written word. Michael J. Lyons served as Chair of the History Department from 1972 to 1989.

Martin J Marchello & Barbara Handy-Marchello History Scholarship

The recipient of the Marchello scholarship shall be pursuing a major in the Department of History, Philosophy, and Religious Studies in the college of Arts Humanities and Social Sciences. The Marchellos believe that education is fundamental to a strong democracy and that the knowledge gained through education and research makes a better world for all.  The recipient shall be an undergraduate who has attained the rank of sophomore, junior or senior at the time of disbursement, and must have attained a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. The scholarship applicant shall submit a substantial letter explaining why he or she deserves the scholarship.

Roach Endowment

The Corwin Carlyle Roach Memorial Endowment was established by his widow, Agnes Roach, and his daughter, Mary Sawyer, in 1990. Dr. Corwin Roach was director of the NDSU School of Religion and professor of Philosophy and History at NDSU from 1959 to 1978. The scholarship is for undergraduate students who are majoring in history with a .3.00 cumulative GPA or higher.



Top of page